Extension and Ag Research News


2020 N.D. 4-H Air Rifle Championships Winners Announced

Several 4-H’ers brought home honors from this event.

Ramsey County teams took first place in all three divisions of the 2020 4-H State Air Rifle Championships, which were held in Devils Lake, N.D.

The championships were modified to allow shooters to participate at their home range under instructor supervision and send their scores to the host site because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Youth ages 8 to 18 competed in three age divisions. Youth ages 8 to 10 were beginners, ages 11 to 13 were in the junior division and youth 14 to 18 years old were in the senior division. The competition was limited to sporter class air rifles. The match had 56 participants.

Beginners participated in a 60-shot bench rest competition for a possible score of 600 in the event. The junior and senior teams competed in a three-position (prone, kneeling and standing) event, performing 20 shots at 10 meters in each position for a potential score of 600. Senior-age division participants competed to qualify for the 2021 4-H National Invitational Match in Grand Island, Neb.

The Ramsey County team of Hannah Vaagen, Casia Steinhaus and Cassandra Christenson placed first in the senior division. Individual scorers were:

  • First - Vaagen, with a score of 519
  • Second - Steinhaus, with a score of 510
  • Third - Christenson, with a score of 500
  • Fourth - Mercedes Francis, Cass County, with a score of 483
  • Fifth - Lillian Roth, Cass County, with a score of 464

The junior division air rifle team champions were Laura Stiven, Issac Vaagen, Kaylee Christenson and Brady Schuler of Ramsey County. Individual scorers were:

  • First - Stiven, with a score of 459
  • Second - Vaagen, with a score of 439
  • Third - Olivia Ellenson, Cass County, with a score of 429
  • Fourth - Layne Korgel, Ward County, with a score of 413
  • Fifth - Carter Teigen, Pierce County, with a score of 403

The Ramsey County team of Rachel Vaagen, Eagan Laite, Jyles Shomento and Halle Schuler claimed the top honors in the beginner division. Individual scorers were:

  • First - Vaagen, with a score of 565
  • Second - Laite, with a score of 543
  • Third - Olivia Jansen, Ward County, with a score of 535
  • Fourth - Shomento, with a score of 523
  • Fifth - Schuler, also with a score of 523

Jacob Vaagen from Ramsey County was the lone masters division participant and scored 536.

Shooting sports is sponsored by Scheels, a supporter of the North Dakota 4-H Foundation.

NDSU Agriculture Communication - Oct. 23, 2020

Source: Adrian Biewer, 701-231-6184, adrian.biewer@ndsu.edu

Editor: Ellen Crawford, 701-231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu




Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.