Extension and Ag Research News


Youth Compete in N.D. State 4-H Livestock Quiz Bowl

Several teams bring home honors from the state event.

Teams from Oliver, Morton, Stark-Billings, Golden Valley, Mountrail and Pembina counties took top honors in the second state 4-H livestock quiz bowl held at North Dakota State University.

The contest provides an opportunity for youth enrolled in the North Dakota 4-H livestock project to demonstrate their knowledge of animal science-related subject matter in a friendly, yet competitive, setting.

Youth were tested on all food animal livestock species: beef, dairy, swine, goat (dairy and meat), sheep, poultry and rabbit. The 4-H’ers also fielded questions about Youth for the Quality and Care of Animals, a national multispecies quality assurance program for youth ages 8 to 21, with a focus on three core pillars: food safety, animal well-being and character development.

Fifty-five youth representing six North Dakota counties completed in the quiz bowl.

Senior Division

The top teams were:

  • First - Oliver County 4-H, with team members Jacob Klaudt, Rebecca Schmidt, Morgan Miller and Reanna Schmidt
  • Second - Morton County 4-H, with team members Cooper Strommen, Cassidy Strommen, Sheridan Ellingson and Medora Ellingson
  • Third - Golden Valley 4-H, with team members Chance Manhart, Abby Hecker, Kade Manhart and Kinze Steiner

Individual winners:

  • First - Klaudt
  • Second - Taylor Downing, Stark-Billings County 4-H
  • Third - Morgan Vachal, Mountrail County 4-H
  • Fourth - Kade Manhart
  • Fifth - Hecker

Intermediate Division

The top teams were:

  • First - Stark-Billings County 4-H, with team members Ian Dohrmann, Coy Melchior, Abby Talkington, Trevor Lefor and Emma Bock
  • Second - Golden Valley County 4-H team No. 1, with team members Dillon Manhart, Abe Oech, Levi Hecker and Harley Feiring
  • Third - Pembina County 4-H, with team members Gracee Thorlakson, Ava Kemnitz, Remington Larson, Wyatt Larson and Colbie Furstenau

Individual winners:

  • First - Gust Twedt, Golden Valley 4-H
  • Second - Erika Littlefield, Mountrail County 4-H
  • Third - Thorlakson
  • Fourth - Kemnitz
  • Fifth - Manhart

Junior Division

The top teams were:

  • First - Stark-Billings County 4-H, with team members Hadley Talkington, Layne Melchior, Sawyer Wolf and Kylee Sickler
  • Second - Golden Valley County 4-H, with team members Josh Davidson, Bronson Manhart, Taylor Feiring and Gus Ueckert

Individual winners:

  • First - Talkington
  • Second - Davidson
  • Third - Melchior
  • Three way tie for fourth - Manhart, Sickler and Wolf

Teams competed by giving oral answerers to questions posed by a moderator. Each match had a one-on-one phase, a team phase and a toss-up phase with bonuses attached to questions.

NDSU Agriculture Communication - March 16, 2020

Source:Leigh Ann Skurupey, 701-231-6658, leighann.skurupey@ndsu.edu
Editor:Ellen Crawford, 701-231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.