You are here: Home Newsreleases N.D. 4-H’ers Win at Little International
Document Actions

N.D. 4-H’ers Win at Little International

The 4-H’ers competed in livestock and crop judging and hippology.

County 4-H teams from across North Dakota brought home honors from judging contests during the 91st annual Little International at North Dakota State University.

Little International, better known as Little I, is held every year in February. The two-day event includes judging contests the NDSU Collegiate FFA and NDSU Saddle and Sirloin clubs organize for 4-H and FFA youth. Little I also has a livestock show.

This year’s judging contests attracted many participants from North Dakota and Minnesota.

Here are the top 4-H teams and individuals in each division:

Senior Livestock Judging

  • First, Stark-Billings County - team members: Marissa Tuhy, Sam Poland, Taylor Downing, Morgan Nelson and Kyle Kostelecky
  • Second, Adams County - team members: Rebecca Knutson, Tucker Ellingson, Beth Lien, Mac Stuber, Mac Buckmier and Zack Rickertsen
  • Third, Burleigh County - team¬¬ members: Kaitlyn Petersen, Jayden McDonald, Morgyn Miller and Shiloh Schmid
  • High individual - Peterson

Ten teams competed in this division.

Junior Livestock Judging

  • First, Golden Valley County - team members: Kyle Sarsland, Chance Manhart, Abby Hecker, Kaden Volk, Tenna Fleming, Kade Manhart, Ray Steiner, Kinzetta Steiner and Dillon Manhart
  • Second, Adams County - team members: Tom Buckmier, Kaden Schauer, Tatum Fitch, Tate Nash and Mace Stuber
  • Third, Ransom County - team members: Jamie Geyer, Lindsey Galbreath, Paige Zimprich, Gabe Lyons, Haley McLeod and Olivia Nitschke
  • High individual - Rose Wendel, Dickey County

Nineteen teams competed in this event.

Senior Crops Judging

  • First, Grand Forks County - team members: Thomas Schneibel, Rachel Juve and Emily McHugo
  • High individual - Schneibel

One team and six individuals competed in this event.

Junior 4-H Crops Judging

  • First, Walsh County - team members: Conner Hodek, Zack Zikmund, Justin Klose, Owen Zikmund, Andrew Myrdal and Hannah Myrdal
  • Second, Mountrail County - team members: Andrew Haakenson, Dyson Odermann, Alyssa Haakenson, Colter Sanderson and Dylan Locken
  • Third, Grand Forks County - team members: Jennifer Schneibel, Ryan Juve and Josh Juve
  • High individual - Hodek

Five teams competed in this division.

Senior Hippology

  • First, Morton County 1 - team members: Morgan Henke, Ashley Goldade and Brooke Heidrich
  • Second, Kidder County - team members: Cheyenne Klein, Morgan Dutton and Kaden Strom
  • Third, Clay County 2 - team members: Breanna Brown, Grace Lech and Kirstin Kuntz
  • High individual - Dutton

Fourteen teams competed in this event.

Junior Hippology

  • First, Ward County - team members: Anne Schauer, Natalie Helfrich and Piper Sorenson
  • Second, Sargent County - team members: Christina Mathias, Kris Fuhrman and Karlie Shockley
  • Third, Morton County - team members: Peyton Goldade, Ashton Boehm, Brynn Vega and Ruby Johnson

Twenty-six teams competed in this event.

NDSU Agriculture Communication - Feb. 21, 2017

Source:Dean Aakre, 701-231-8595,
Source:Becca Oase, 701-231-7251,
Editor:Ellen Crawford, 701-231-5391,
Spotlight on Economics:  Spotlight on Economics: COVID-19 Impact on Meat Consumers and Producers  (2020-08-05)  The pandemic caused major disruptions in the U.S. meat industry.  FULL STORY
Prairie Fare: Prairie Fare: Do You Have Zucchini Coming Out of Your Ears?  (2020-08-06)  Zucchini is a versatile and prolific summer squash.  FULL STORY
Dakota Gardener:  Dakota Gardener: Beware of the Garden Glutton  (2020-08-04)  Hornworms eat four times their weight every day.  FULL STORY
Use of Releases
The news media and others may use these news releases in their entirety. If the articles are edited, the sources and NDSU must be given credit.

Powered by Plone, the Open Source Content Management System