Extension and Ag Research News


| Share

NDSU Agriculture, Extension Faculty and Staff Honored

NDSU honors its Agriculture and Extension faculty and staff for their work.

North Dakota State University faculty and staff received awards for excellence in research, teaching, Extension and support staff efforts in an awards ceremony on campus Dec. 12.

Ken Grafton, vice president for Agricultural Affairs; dean of the College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources; and director of the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station; Chris Boerboom, director of the NDSU Extension Service; and David Buchanan, associate dean for academic programs in the College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources, presented the awards during the 22nd annual Agriculture and Extension Faculty/Staff Awards program. Fifty people were nominated this year.

The 2013 award recipients were:

  • Larson/Yaggie Excellence in Research Award - Scott Pryor, associate professor, Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Eugene R. Dahl Excellence in Research Award - Mohamed Mergoum, professor, Department of Plant Sciences
  • Earl and Dorothy Foster Excellence in Teaching Award - Deirdre Prischmann-Voldseth, assistant professor, School of Natural Resource Sciences (Entomology Department)
  • H.Roald and Janet Lund Excellence in Teaching Award - Kirk Howatt, associate professor, Department of Plant Sciences
  • William J. and Angelyn A. Austin Excellence in Advising Award - Cheryl Wachenheim, professor, Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • Myron and Muriel Johnsrud Excellence in Extension/Outreach Award - Carrie Knutson, Extension agent, Grand Forks County
  • AGSCO Excellence in Extension Award - Mohamed Khan, Extension sugar beet specialist and professor, Department of Plant Pathology
  • Charles and Linda Moses Staff Award - Viviana Rivera-Varas, research assistant, Department of Plant Pathology
  • Donald and Jo Anderson Staff Award - Cindy Olson, administrative assistant, Ramsey County Extension office
  • Rick and Jody Burgum Staff Award - Jim Moos, maintenance mechanic, Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

NDSU Agriculture Communication - Dec. 13, 2013

Source:Alisha Nord, (701) 231-8190, alisha.nord@ndsu.edu
Editor:Ellen Crawford, (701) 231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.