Extension and Ag Research News


| Share

Morton, Foster Teams 1st in 4-H Dairy Judging Contest

Youth bring home honors from the state 4-H dairy judging competition.

The Morton County team placed first in the senior division of the state 4-H dairy judging contest held at the North Dakota State University dairy facilities June 5.

Team members are Brandi Boehm, Tanner Gress and Tessa Keller of Mandan; Braden Klusmann of New Salem; and Renae Tokach and Macey Isaacs of Saint Anthony.

Participants in the contest placed six classes of dairy cattle and presented oral reasons for their placing in two of the classes.

The Foster County team took second place in the senior division. Team members are Madison Wendel, Maggie Mattson and Casey Murphy of Carrington; Haley Koenig of Bordulac; and Seth Hazer of Woodworth. Wendel was the high individual in the contest.

In the junior division, the team from Foster County placed first. Team members are Savanna Friedt and Sage Friedt of Carrington and Shawn Nichols and Madeleine Nichols of Sykeston. Members of the second-place team from Sheridan County are Alex Naser, Riley Laib, Shelby Faul and Kaitlyn Haux of McClusky.

The third-place team was Bowman County, with members Tasha Pond, Megan Buchmann and Remington Buchmann of Bowman; and Colbey Steeke of Rhame.

Brandie Doll of New Salem was the high individual in the junior division.

Sponsors of the contest are the Milk Producers Association of North Dakota, Midwest Dairy Association and North Dakota 4-H Foundation.

NDSU Agriculture Communication - June 8, 2012

Source:Dean Aakre, (701) 231-8595, dean.aakre@ndsu.edu
Editor:Ellen Crawford, (701) 231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.