Extension and Ag Research News


2017 N.D. State 4-H Archery Match Winners Named

Several teams bring home top honors from the state event.

Archery teams from McIntosh, Morton, Steele-Traill, Stark-Billings, Ramsey and Stutsman counties took first place in their age and bow style division at the North Dakota State 4-H Archery Championships held at the North Dakota 4-H Camp near Washburn.

Senior archers were required to participate in 3-D, World Federation field archery and the half-field round of National Federation Archery Association archery. Each archer’s cumulative scores from the three events determined whether he or she advances to national competition. The top four archers will compete in the 2018 4-H National Shooting Sports Championships in Grand Island, Neb.

The 3-D archery event consisted of barebow and freestyle divisions. Participants scored 30 3-D animal targets, with one arrow shot at each, for a complete round and total score of 300 points. The yardages compensate for participants’ age, with seniors shooting a maximum of 50 yards, juniors 35 yards and beginners 25 yards in 3-D and field archery. The total score for field archery is 200.

The World Federation field archery competition was for seniors only. The course has four shooting distances marked from 30 to 60 meters, with a total score of 400. Seniors must compete in all three events.

The top four seniors who are advancing to the national championships are Kail Larsen from Stark-Billings County, Landon Sprague and William Peckham from Stutsman County, and Thomas Mitchell from Pembina County. The alternate will be ShiAnne Boehm from Morton County.

Here’s how they placed individually:

  • First - Larsen, with a cumulative score of 790
  • Second - Sprague, with a score of 754
  • Third - Mitchell, with a score of 753

The senior Stutsman County team of Peckham, Sprague and Victoria Christenson captured the team title.

Senior BareBow 3-D

Individual winners in the senior barebow 3-D competition were:

  • First - Trevor Pierce, Steele-Trail County, with a score of 189
  • Second - Dixie Sauter, Grant County, with a score of 138

No teams competed in field archery.

Junior Freestyle 3-D

The junior freestyle division team from Ramsey County placed first in the 3-D competition with a cumulative score of 626. Members were Thomas Graue, Emily Tjelta, Caline Boline and Benjamin Vetsch. Individual scorers were:

  • First - Trenton Erbele, Logan County, with a score of 249
  • Second - Tyler Brusseau, Stark-Billings County, with a score of 247
  • Third - Devin Fulton, Steele-Traill County, with a score of 223

Junior Freestyle Field Archery

The top team in junior division freestyle field archery was from Ramsey County. Members of the team were Emily Tjelta, Zachary Wood and Savanna Lebrun. Individual winners were:

  • First - Ethan Sprague, Stutsman County, with a score of 174
  • Second - Rebecca Morstad, Ramsey County, with a score of 146
  • Third - Brusseau, with a score of 125

Junior Barebow 3-D

The Steele-Traill County junior barebow division team of Devin Fulton, Jack Thompson, Emma Thompson and Mackenzie Motter placed first in 3-D. Top individuals were:

  • First - Fulton, with a score of 199
  • Second - Syndey Steiner, Hettinger County, with a score of 194
  • Third - Isiah Cook, Grant County, with a score of 170

Junior Barebow Field Archery

Individual winners in the junior barebow field archery competition were:

  • First - Jack Thompson, with a score of 105
  • Second - Kaser Kassian, McLean County, with a score of 92
  • Third - Steiner, with a score of 86

No teams competed in field archery.

Beginner Freestyle

The top beginner freestyle division team consisted of Hatley Hetleved, Karter Hatzenbuhler, Cutter Craig and Logan Ferrell from Morton County. The top individuals were:

  • First - Teagan Erbele, Logan County, with a score of 267
  • Second - Hetleved, with a score of 262
  • Third - Hunter Gegelman, Stutsman County, with a score of 260

Beginner Barebow

The winning beginner barebow division team consisted of Hailey Metzger, Elizabeth Pinke, Camden Wiest and Kya Weist from McIntosh County. Individual winners were:

  • First - Hannah Myrdal, Walsh County, with a score of 167
  • Second - Kade Kassian, McLean County, with a score of 166
  • Third - Karissa Mann, Logan County, with a score of 160

NDSU Agriculture Communication - July 7, 2017

Source:Adrian Biewer, 701-231-7251, adrian.biewer@ndsu.edu
Editor:Ellen Crawford, 701-231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.