Extension and Ag Research News


4-H’ers Place in N.D. Hippology Contest

Teams from Ward and Morton counties take top honors in their respective division.

A team from Ward County placed first in the senior division of the 4-H hippology contest held March 7 at the North Dakota Winter Show in Valley City.

The team members are Kara Scheresky, Parker Bush, Shaylee Miller and Lindsey Sys.

The hippology event is a contest of knowledge of horses and equine care. This contest consisted of a written test, five stations of identification of horses and related equipment, and a team problem. Teams consist of three or four youth. The scores of the top three members of each team are added to make a team score.

The second-place team in the senior division is from Grand Forks County. Team members are Alanna Ivers, Sarah Hoiland, Emily Joerger and Savannah Syverson. The Barnes County team of Brooke McDonald, Breanna McDonald, Mickaella Langer and Samantha Bergrud placed third.

Alanna Ivers placed first high individual in the senior division.

In the junior division, the team of Morgan Henke, Brenna Hoger, Brooke Heidrich and Ashley Goldade from Morton County placed first. The entire team worked together on all parts of the contest.

The second-place team is from Mountrail County. Its members are Logan Lapica, Abby Sigvaldsen, Jossi Meyer and Calli Hennessy. The Kidder County team, with members Kaden Storam, Teresa Wald, Ivy Starks and Lydia Symens, placed third.

In the open division, teams from Ransom County and Kindred placed first and second, respectively.

Awards for the contest were sponsored by the North Dakota Winter Show through the support of the North Dakota 4-H Foundation.

The state 4-H hippology contest, along with the state 4-H horse judging contest, will be held Saturday, April 5, at the NDSU Equine Center. Horse public speaking, demonstrations and a horse quiz bowl will be held Sunday, April 6, at NDSU.

NDSU Agriculture Communication - March 14, 2014

Source:Dean Aakre, (701) 231-8595, dean.aakre@ndsu.edu
Editor:Ellen Crawford, (701) 231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.