State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

February 13, 2019, Bismarck, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met for a regular meeting at the Wingate by Wyndham in Bismarck, ND on February 13, 2019, starting at 3:00 p.m. Board members in attendance were Mark Birdsall, Lance Gulleson (via phone), Larry Hoffmann, Greg Lardy, Brian Leier, Sarah Lovas, Keith Peltier, Richard Roland, Dean Wehri and Julie Zikmund (via phone). Members Absent: Doug Bichler, Tracy Boe, Dean Bresciani, Doug Goehring, Ken Grafton, and Jerry Klein.

Chairman Keith Peltier called meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and welcomed members and guests.

Administrative Updates:

Dr. Greg Lardy updated the board on currently filled interim positions. In January, Dr. Christopher Schauer, filled the interim DREC Director position.  He will continue to serve as the Director of the HREC. Dr. Frank Casey, Director of School of Natural Resource Sciences, will serve as the part time Associate Agricultural Experiment Station Director position effective February 15.  Dr. Kenneth Hellevang will serve as the interim chair in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering effective February 15.

Dr. Lardy presented an update on the current status of the HB 1020 bill.  Members were encouraged to be active within the Senate side for restoration of cuts made by the House.  Members were updated on the SB 2297 bonding bill, which passed the Senate the previous Friday. The bill currently includes $54M and $6M in fundraising for the construction of an Ag Products Development Center for NDSU as well as $10M and $8M in fundraising for NCI project. 

Dr. Lardy gave a special thanks to Tim Faller and Duane Hauck as they’ve been a great help for the behind the scenes work they do organizing testimony and setting schedules.

A motion was made by Dean Wehri to approve the October 22, 2018 meeting minutes, seconded by Larry Hoffmann. Motion carried.


Discussion on the organizational chart and reporting flow within NDSU agriculture

Dr. Lardy stepped out of the meeting room for this portion of the conversation, stating a conflict of interest.  Chairman Peltier started discussion of the appropriate reporting flow within NDSU agriculture. Peltier asked Duane Hauck to present to the Board a summary of administrative structure examples that Hauck had collected from various universities in the region.  The Board reviewed the organizational charts for Iowa, South Dakota, Minnesota, Kansas State, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Montana State.  Further discussion took place on the structures.  Century Code should be reviewed to ensure any change to existing reporting lines are within code.

After much discussion and review, a motion was made by Mark Birdsall to recommend to the NDSU President an updated reporting structure to the NDSU agricultural administrative organizational structure. This structure should include a Vice President for Agricultural Affairs. The Vice President for Agricultural Affairs should also retain the titles of Agricultural Experiment Station Director, Extension Director and Dean of the College of Agriculture. The administrative structure below the Vice President should include an Associate Agricultural Experiment Station Director, Associate Extension Director and Associate Dean to undertake the day-to-day duties of each area.  The Vice President for Agriculture shall report directly to the NDSU President, though a portion of the Dean position may report to the NDSU Provost for academic responsibilities such as promotion and tenure. The motion was seconded by Larry Hoffmann. Motion passed unanimously.

Legislative Strategy Discussion

Dr. Lardy was asked to return to meeting room for remaining meeting discussion.  Dr. Lardy discussed final strategy for the HB 1020 March Senate hearing.  Testimony on Jan. 10 was well received and he recommended the same format in future hearings.  SBARE members were encouraged to attend next hearing for show of support. Members were informed of an app they can download to their phones (either droid or iPhone) NDLegisdaily, to follow interim committee schedules, by tracking interim committees in the Legislative Bill Tracking System.

Peltier adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.

Submitted by Cherie Fischer

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.