State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

October 22, 2018, Mandan, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met for a regular meeting in the Bridge Conference Room at the UDSA-ARS Northern Great Plains Research Lab (NGPRL) in Mandan, ND on October 22, 2018, starting at 11:00 a.m. Board members in attendance were Doug Bichler, Mark Birdsall, Doug Goehring, Lance Gulleson, Larry Hoffmann, Jerry Klein, Greg Lardy, Brian Leier, Sarah Lovas, Keith Peltier, Dean Wehri and Julie Zikmund. Members Absent: Tracy Boe, Dean Bresciani, Ken Grafton, and Richard Roland.

Vice Chairman Mark Birdsall presided over the early part of the meeting at the request of Chairman Keith Peltier, who would arrive later in meeting.  Vice Chairman Birdsall called meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. and welcomed members and guests. Members voted on the prior three dates of meeting minutes.  A motion was made by Larry Hoffmann to approve the May 3, 2018, June 22, 2018 and August 9, 2018 meeting minutes, seconded by Lance Gulleson. Motion carried.

Administrative Position Updates:

Dr. Greg Lardy discussed several position updates.

Duane Hauck will be starting on a part-time basis as special assistant to the Extension Director, beginning October 1, 2018. Dr. Jack Rasmussen will chair an internal search for a part time Associate Agricultural Experiment Station Director position later this fall.  This is the position vacated by Dr. Jane Schuh when she accepted the role of Vice President for Research. 

Dr. Lardy personally thanked Dr. Kris Ringwall, Director of the Dickinson Research Extension Center (DREC) and Extension livestock specialist for his 40 plus years of service to NDSU.  Dr. Ringwall is resigning his position October 31, 2018 and moving into a new position with the University of Saskatchewan.  Shana Forster, Director of the NCREC, will chair the Interim REC Director search later this fall. 

Dr. Marc Bauer has accepted the offer to serve as interim Head of the Animal Sciences Department beginning September 16, 2018. 

Dr. John McEvoy has been named permanent chair of Microbiological Sciences. 

Given current budget constraints and number of vacancies Dr. Lardy expressed focus is on critical hires for faculty, technicians and key positions.

Legislative Strategy Discussion

Vice Chairman Mark Birdsall started a lengthy strategy discussion on what needs to be done ahead of the 2019-2021 legislative session as well as the process for future sessions and committee hearings. Focus was on proactive strategies to increase awareness of SBARE. Members discussed how Extension could improve perception with legislators. 

Chairman Peltier’s action item request included the following:

  • 5 talking points the board could use to convey a consistent message
  • List of programs lost
  • Powerpoint/SBARE website updated

Budget Update

Dr. Lardy gave the board an update of the budget submitted to OMB. Earlier this spring the Governor asked state agencies to submit budgets for the upcoming biennium which include a 10% budget reduction as well as a 3% contingency reduction. Following our strategy review meeting with the Governor’s Office in August, we were encouraged to submit a needs based budget for both NDSU Extension and the ND Agricultural Experiment Station. SBARE approved this pathway and both budgets (needs based and 10% reductions) have been submitted to the Office of Management and Budget. Dave Ruhland explained the process of submitting a hold-even budget, with the SBARE priorities as add-ons, accompanied by appropriate justifications.

REC Director Updates

Chairman Keith Peltier asked for a brief update from REC Directors on Legislative strategy.  Input was given from Jerry Bergman (WREC), Kevin Sedivec (CGREC), Blaine Schatz (CREC), Chris Schauer (HREC), Duane Hauck (Extension), Randy Mehlhoff (LREC), Shana Forster (NCREC), Brian Otteson (ASF), Tim Faller (for Kris Ringwall DREC)

Approval of 2018-2019 Agricultural Research Fund Committee Lists

A motion was made by Sarah Lovas to approve the committee structure of the 2018-2019 Agricultural Research Fund Committee, seconded by Brian Leier. Motion carried.

Dr. Greg Lardy thanked the board for their patience and appreciated their welcome.  Offered anyone to come by to discuss any questions they may have.

Peltier adjourned the meeting at 1:45 p.m.

Submitted by Cherie Fischer

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.