State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

May 15, 2014, Conference call

State Board of Agricultural Research and Education
Minutes - May 15, 2014
Conference call originating in Morrill 313 - NDSU, Fargo

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met via conference call, originating at the NDSU Morrill Hall Room 313, NDSU campus. Board members participating were Leland (Judge) Barth, Mike Beltz, Tracy Boe, Chris Boerboom, Dean Bresciani, Ken Grafton, Rodney Howe, Jerry Klein, Paul Langseth, Brian Leier, Doyle Lentz, JoAnn Rodenbiker, Richard (Dick) Roland and Lyle Warner. Absent: Keith Peltier and Doug Goehring.

Chairman Beltz called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m., and noting a quorum, welcomed everyone to make introductions. He noted that all agronomy lab improvement plans are on track at this point with the exception of the Central Grasslands Research Extension Center.

Funding situation for Central Grasslands Research Extension Center (CGREC)

Bids submitted came in much higher than expected and higher than the requested funding support likely because of the remote location and market competition. In addition, the project’s relatively low overall size may have kept larger contractors from bidding. Chairman Beltz briefly reviewed the Board’s options going forward and discussion ensued.

Dean Bresciani made a motion that SBARE retain the original scope of the CGREC project as planned, and present this need of increased funds as an unranked capital request to complete the project. The motion was seconded by Paul Langseth. Chairman Beltz called for a board vote by roll call. All in were in favor and the motion passed.

Having no further business, JoAnn Rodenbiker made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Dean Bresciani seconded it. Meeting was adjourned at 8:52am.

Respectfully submitted by Lorie Herbel.

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.