State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

March 5, 2014, Bismarck

State Board of Agricultural Research and Education
Minutes - March 5, 2014
Bismarck, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met at the State Capitol’s Pioneer Room, Bismarck, ND. Board members in attendance were Leland (Judge) Barth, Mike Beltz, Tracy Boe, Chris Boerboom, Dean Bresciani, Doug Goehring, Ken Grafton, Rodney Howe, Jerry Klein, Paul Langseth, Brian Leier, Doyle Lentz, Keith Peltier, JoAnn Rodenbiker, Richard (Dick) Roland and Lyle Warner.

Chairman Beltz called the meeting to order at 10:06 AM, and noting a quorum, welcomed everyone to make introductions. Chairman Beltz asked for any additions or corrections to the agenda and hearing none it was unanimously approved. Rodney Howe moved to approve the February 11 minutes as submitted and Judge Barth seconded the motion; motion carried.

Chairman Beltz noted that April 10 is the deadline for submitting initiatives. In preparation for the next SBARE meeting in July, the ‘Friend of SBARE’ award nominations should be set up before this meeting so that the board can vote to choose a recipient. New board member nominations and confirmations will take place this spring/summer.

Randy Christmann, Public Service Commission (PSC), addressed the board on the current rail situation in North Dakota, and the role of the PSC. Dan Wogsland, representing ND Ag Rail Business Council, also addressed the board. Jon Long and John Olson from Burlington Northern-Santa Fe Railroad provided a BNSF overview and service update to members of SBARE.

Administrative Report from Dean Bresciani

Dean Bresciani informed the board that he, Chairman Beltz, and Ken Grafton recently had a videoconference with Chancellor Skogen about the function of SBARE.

Administrative Report from Ken Grafton

The Williston Research Extension Center has hired an agronomist. Plant Pathology has made a hire in nematology and the candidate is expected to start in July. Dr. Dyer in the Veterinary Diagnostic Lab is in the process of hiring a microbiologist. Bids for work at Carrington and Hettinger Research Extension Centers were received within budget; Langdon opens bids March 18. Options are being explored regarding a project bid at the Central Grasslands Research Extension Center.

Administrative Report from Chris Boerboom

Board terms for two of Extension’s Multi-Program Unit (MPU) regions are ending. JoAnn Rodenbiker is eligible for a second term. Nominations are being sought from MPU 5 and 6. Dates for upcoming legislative reporting sessions were shared with the board. Dr. Boerboom announced that Kathy Tweeten is retiring August 2014, and Extension will recruit to fill her position. Roger Ashley has retired and Kris Ringwall overseeing recruitment efforts. Four summer interns have been chosen for Richland, Steele, Walsh-Pembina, and Bowman counties. Additionally, there are four agent-in-training positions in Walsh, Grand Forks, Morton and Oliver counties. Extension currently has eight open agent positions. Washburn’s 4-H camp bid opening is March 26.

Review of Programmatic Initiatives for NDAES

Dr. Grafton briefly reviewed the programmatic initiatives on the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station list.

Rodney Howe made a motion that the Precision Ag FTEs be reduced from four to two FTEs and that the fund total be adjusted to $2.55M. Dick Roland seconded the motion. Discussion followed. Chairman Beltz called for a verbal vote, and ruled that the motion carried. David Ruhland handed out ballots at 12:03pm and explained the voting procedure. Board members were dismissed for lunch while votes were tabulated.

The meeting was brought to order again at 1:07 pm. Results of AES Bundled Initiatives vote were shared, with dollar figures added into the sheet.

Rodney Howe made a motion to keep the first five initiatives on the first page and place the four remaining initiatives on the second page, with a note that the remainder of all the items that were considered be made available upon request. Doyle Lentz seconded the motion. Discussion followed. The motion passed.

The board reviewed the list of one-time requests; three items were ranked. Discussion followed regarding how to proceed. Chairman Beltz suggested voting to rank them again. Ballots were distributed and collected.

Review of Programmatic Initiatives for Extension

Dr. Boerboom briefly reviewed the six Extension bundled initiatives. Discussion followed.

Rodney Howe made a motion that SBARE recommend the amount of $75,000 for the Soil Conservation Committee budget item. JoAnn Rodenbiker seconded the motion. This will remain an unranked additional request listed on the second page. Discussion. Board members voted, one objection was noted. Motion passed.
Board members voted on the bundled initiatives and totals were presented in order from highest to lowest with dollar amounts shown. Discussion followed regarding which items to bring forward. Dick Roland made a motion to bring all items forward; Doyle Lentz seconded the motion. No discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

The board discussed whether prior requests should be listed on the back side of the page. Rodney Howe made a motion to place prior requests on the back page, and JoAnn Rodenbiker seconded the motion. A vote was called and due to a close verbal vote Chairman Beltz requested a hand vote. Motion failed.

Paul Langseth made a motion that SBARE provides all previously eliminated items upon request, similar to the plan for AES. Brian Leier seconded the motion. Chairman Beltz asked for vote. Motion passed.

Dr. Boerboom asked if the board would consider bringing forward a one-time request to the state for an oil patch salary differential for Extension. Judge Barth made a motion that a one-time request for salary differential of $250,000 for Extension be made to the Executive Budget. JoAnn Rodenbiker seconded the motion. The motion passed.

AES One-Time Requests

Dick Roland moved to include all three one-time requests on the sheet in their supported initiatives. Tracy Boe seconded the motion. Lentz called the question. Motion carried; all will be included.

Review of Capital Requests

Dr. Grafton reviewed the list of capitol request items. Dave Ruhland issued ballots and voting commenced. Results were shared with board. Discussion followed regarding how many items to bring forward. Paul Langseth made a motion to bring three items forward, and this was seconded by Judge Barth. Discussion. Lyle Warner called question. Chairman Beltz asked for a vote. Motion passed.

Next meeting and membership changes

Chairman Beltz announced that the next meeting will be at the Williston Research Extension Center. Since July 10-11 is their 2014 Field Days, the Board will meet on the afternoon of July 10 following the morning Field Day activity. Important upcoming issues to focus on will include the Ag Research Fund, and new SBARE officers.

Chairman Beltz reminded the board that Paul Langseth and Doyle Lentz would be rotating off the board at the end of June. He thanked them for serving the board with distinction.

At 3:12 pm Tracy Boe moved to adjourn the meeting, and Jerry Klein seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Lorie Herbel.

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.