State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

November 17-18, 2011, Mandan

State Board of Agricultural Research and Education
Approved Minutes – November 17-18, 2011

Northern Great Plains Research Laboratory, Mandan, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met at the Northern Great Plains Research Laboratory in Mandan beginning at 1 p.m. on November 17, 2011.  Members present were Bob Bahm, Mike Beltz, Tom Borgen, Bob Christman (for Doug Goehring), Jerry Effertz, Ken Grafton, Duane Hauck, Rodney Howe, Jerry Klein, Paul Langseth, Doyle Lentz, Phil Mueller, and JoAnn Rodenbiker.

Chairman Howe called the meeting to order and asked for additions to the agenda and there were none.  Minutes of the September 20, 2011 SBARE meeting were approved as distributed.

Chairman Howe distributed the latest “funded initiatives” update.  He also reported that the NDSU Extension Director search is in progress with a goal of having a new director named by January 1.

Duane Hauck reported that the USDA budget submitted is relatively positive for agricultural research and Extension.

Ken Grafton also indicated the federal budget looks better than anticipated for research and Extension. 

Grafton reported that the longstanding relationship between Montana State and North Dakota State, supporting joint leadership for their respective research Extension centers has been dissolved and a search for director of the Williston Research Extension Center will take place immediately.  The North Dakota Legislature provided $200,000 in contingency funds in anticipation of the change.

Grafton also reported that Sreekala Bajwa will begin her duties as chair of the Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering on or before February 29.  Other new hires Grafton mentioned included: Charlene Wolf-Hall, head of veterinary and microbiological sciences; Cole Gustafson, chair of agribusiness and applied economics; and Rich Horsley, head of plant sciences.  Grafton also indicated that Paul Nyren, Central Grasslands Research Extension Center Director, has announced his intentions to retire in March of 2012.

As a follow-up to the September 20 SBARE meeting, Phil Mueller made a motion to include the following resolution in SBARE minutes.  Paul Langseth seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

“The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education sincerely appreciates the efforts of NDSU Extension Service and N.D. Agricultural Experiment Station faculty and staff as they’ve supported North Dakotans throughout the state during 2011’s flooding and other weather challenges.

SBARE especially recognizes the faculty and staff in the Souris River Valley, the Missouri River Valley, the Red River Valley, the James River Valley, the Devils Lake Basin, the NDSU campus and the NC Research Extension Center who provided educational information, hosted animals, led programs, developed resources and did much more – sometimes while being affected by the flooding and wet weather personally.”

The following individuals met with SBARE and talked about programs/initiatives important to them as related to the SBARE budget planning process.
Julie Ellingson, North Dakota Stockmen’s Association
Larry Kleingartner, National Sunflower Association
Sheena Johnson, North Dakota Grain Growers
Neal Fisher, North Dakota Wheat Commission
Matt Sanderson, Northern Great Plains Research Laboratory
Betsy Dalrymple, North Dakota First Lady-Office of the Governor
Tara Muhlhauser, ND Department of Human Services
Susan Keller, North Dakota Department of Agriculture
Leann Harner, North Dakota Association of Soil Conservation Districts
Rob Lech, Beulah Public Schools
Bill Davis, USDA Rural Development
Dave Dockter, North Dakota Beef Cattle Association
Rod Holth, Milton Lindvig, and Kenny Roger,  Energy Beets (Green Vision)
Mark Birdsall, North Dakota Crop Improvement Association
Eric Bartsch, United Pulse Growers
Keith Deutsch, North Central Research Extension Center Advisory Board

Following a brief rundown of tomorrow’s agenda, the board adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

SBARE reconvened at 8:20 a.m. on Friday, November 18 at the same location.

Chairman Howe indicated future SBARE meetings are tentatively set for January 6 in Carrington, February 3 in Bismarck and March 2 in Fargo.

Stakeholder input sessions continued with the following individuals providing testimony.
Deland Myers, School of Food Systems
Terry Traynor, North Dakota Association of Counties
Denise Andress and Cole Kaspari, North Dakota Agri-Health
Jane Schuh, NDSU Department of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences
Blaine Schatz, Carrington Research Extension Center
Paul Nyren Central Grasslands Research Extension Center
Frank Kutka, Dickinson Research Extension Center
Chris Schauer and Denise Andress, Hettinger Research Extension Center
Randy Mehlhoff and Leon Hiltner, Langdon Research Extension Center
Jay Fisher, North Central Research Extension Center
Jerry Bergman, Mike Ames, and Wayne Berry, Williston Research Extension Center

SBARE reconvened following lunch and continued with stakeholder input.

Chad Ellingson and Tana Waldren, NDSU 4-H Foundation
Sara Otte Coleman, ND Commerce Department – Tourism

Ken Grafton reported that the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station is currently in active negotiations with three technology providers.  Some of the mutual goals include access to new technologies, maintenance of a vibrant and relevant breeding program in relation to value to the area, and right mix of technical providers.

Ray Morrell spoke with SBARE on behalf of the North Dakota Department of Emergency Services and Nancy Jo Bateman talked with SBARE on behalf of the North Dakota Beef Commission.

Duane Hauck stressed that testimony over the past two days clearly indicates the importance of collaborations between Extension and other agencies/organizations, as well as the value of community based education.

SBARE adjourned at 2:20, but reconvened shortly after for one more stakeholder presentation from Mike Zimmerman, representing Manitoba-North Dakota Zero Tillage Farmer’s Organization.  

Jerry Effertz made a motion that SBARE send a letter of appreciation to the Northern Great Plains Research Laboratory for hosting the two-day meeting.  The motion was seconded by Doyle Lentz and unanimously approved.

The meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson


Back to list of minutes
Back to main SBARE page

North Dakota State University, Morrill Hall 314, NDSU Dept. 7520, PO Box 6050, Fargo, North Dakota 58108-6050, PHONE: 701-231-7656

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.