State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

December 8-9, 2011, Fargo

State Board of Agricultural Research and Education
Approved Minutes – December 8-9, 2011
Fargo, ND


The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met in Loftsgard Hall on the NDSU Campus beginning at 12:30 p.m. on December 8.  Members present were Mike Beltz, John Bollingberg, Tom Borgen, Dean Bresciani, Doug Goehring, Ken Grafton, Duane Hauck, Rodney Howe, Doyle Johannes, Jerry Klein, Paul Langseth, Phil Mueller, and JoAnn Rodenbiker.

Chairman Howe called the meeting to order, made introductions, and asked for changes/additions to the agenda.  He distributed updated copies of the 2011 general fund initiatives.  Minutes of the November SBARE meeting were approved as distributed.

President Bresciani announced that Ken Grafton has been named Vice President for Agriculture and University Extension and will also continue as dean and director. 

Ken Grafton thanked the president for his unwavering support and also indicated he appreciates the support of members of SBARE.

Rodney Howe added that he, too, appreciated the president’s wisdom and good decision in naming Ken Grafton vice president.

Duane Hauck introduced members of the Extension Leadership Team to visit with SBARE about issues/needs leading into the next legislative session.

Chris Boerboom – ag and natural resources needs
Brad Cogdill – western 4-H camp

Deb Gebeke – family and consumer science needs

Lynette Flage – Extension agents-in-training

Kathy Tweeten – community and workforce sustainability

Ken Grafton introduced Janelle Quam, administrative assistant for the dean and director’s office.

The meeting adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education reconvened at the Ramada Plaza and Suites in Fargo on December 9 at 8:05 a.m.

Ken Grafton introduced Sreekala Bajwa, new chair for the Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, indicating she plans to begin her new job on February 29.  Bajwa told board members she is excited to begin her new role and is anxious to learn about SBARE and meet stakeholders.

Grafton also introduced Mark Weber, new director of the Northern Crops Institute, who said he was pleased with his new role and is looking forward to re-establishing relationships with SBARE members and stakeholder groups.

Tom Teigen, Agronomy Seed Farm Director, provided an update to SBARE and stated that he has no needs for the board to consider as his budget contains no general fund dollars.

SBARE heard testimony from the following individuals related to their issues/needs.

Cole Gustafson, Agribusiness and Applied Economics
Frank Casey, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
Greg Lardy, Animal Sciences
Jack Rasmussen, Plant Pathology
Rich Horsley, Plant Sciences
Frank Casey, School of Natural Resource Sciences
Charlene Wolf-Hall, Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences
Neil Dyer, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
Greg Sanders/Jane Strommen, Aging Initiative
Tim Lilja, North Dakota Corn Growers
Steve Edwardson, North Dakota Barley Council
Barry Coleman, Northern Canola Growers
Beau Bateman, Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers
Gary Hoffman, North Dakota Dairy Coalition
Jason Mewes, Northharvest Bean Growers
Jeff Hamre, Soybean Growers/Council
Kim Christianson, North Dakota Alliance for Renewable Energy
Paul Anderson, North Dakota Grape Growers (Ron Smith)

Howard Olson, AgCountry Farm Credit
Bob Sinner, Northern Food Grade Soybeans

Chairman Howe announced that the next SBARE meeting is set January 6 in Carrington. 

Phil Mueller asked ag administrators to provide information on how the federal fund cuts would affect research and Extension budgets.

Duane Hauck thanked SBARE members for their past support and indicated that even though he retires December 31, he will continue to support their efforts.

The meeting adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson


Back to list of minutes
Back to main SBARE page

North Dakota State University, Morrill Hall 314, NDSU Dept. 7520, PO Box 6050, Fargo, North Dakota 58108-6050, PHONE: 701-231-7656

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.