State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

November 8-9, 2007, Bismarck

State Board of Agricultural Research and Education
Approved Minutes - November 8-9, 2007
Kelly Inn, Bismarck, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met at the Kelly Inn, Bismarck, North Dakota, beginning at 1 p.m. on November 8, 2007. Members present were Bob Bahm, John Bollingberg, Tom Borgen, D.C. Coston, Jerry Effertz, Carol Goodman, Ken Grafton, Duane Hauck, Paul Langseth, and Larry Lee.


Chairman Jerry Effertz called the meeting to order and welcomed visitors.


Carol Goodman reminded the board that now is an opportune time to be planning for and heading into a legislative session. She said that SBARE has raised awareness and that state revenues are healthy, adding that SBARE should be able to build on what they have already done. Goodman thanked NDSU ag administrators for their work on the GROW 21 document, noting that the information has been well received at many meetings. She said that SBARE is a process and members must continue to abide by the process to maintain credibility, continuing to serve North Dakota citizens.

Coston agreed with Goodman, noting that SBARE is unique in the nation. He said that debates and spirited discussions are important.

SBARE’s main agenda for the two-day meeting was to gather input from stakeholders as preparations are made for the next legislative session.

The following individuals submitted written input, which was distributed to SBARE members:

Senator Tim Mathern – Quality of rural life, family life education programs, organic product development

Holly Rose Mawby – Growing organic herbs

Karen Ahrens – Healthy North Dakota

Neal Fisher – North Dakota Wheat Commission

Bob Carlson – North Dakota Farmers Union

Tim DeKrey – National Sunflower Association

Dennis Feiken – North Dakota Soybean Council

Deana Wiese – North Dakota Ag Coalition

Steve Edwardson – North Dakota Barley Council

The following individuals were present and spoke to SBARE about interests and wishes to work with SBARE:

Jerry Schaak – North Dakota Irrigation Association

Kaye Effertz – AmeriFlax

Clare Carlson – North Dakota Rural Development

Stan Meyer – Northern Pulse Growers

Maria Effertz – North Dakota Nature and Rural Tourism

Barry Coleman – Northern Canola Growers

Tom Hanson – North Dakota Association of Soil Conservation Districts

Craig Jarolimek – North Dakota Pork Producers

Alan Ness – Manitoba-North Dakota Zero Tillage Farmers Association

Lyle Warner – North Dakota Lamb and Wool Growers

The meeting adjourned for the day at 4:25 p.m. and reconvened at 8 a.m. on Friday, November 9. Stakeholder input continued with SBARE hearing from the following:

Wanda Agnew – Bismarck-Burleigh Public Health

Helen Danielson – North Dakota Kids Count

Nancy Jo Bateman – North Dakota Beef Commission

Jerry Doan – Central Grasslands Research Center Advisory Board

Tom Rolfstad – Williston Area Development

Tom Lilja – North Dakota Corn Growers

All participants in the two-day sessions stressed the importance of working with SBARE in the planning process and also noted the need to continue partnerships for the benefit of all citizens.

A short business meeting was held following the input gathering sessions.

D.C. Coston informed board members that a meeting is planned November 20 for research extension center directors, department chairs and the extension leadership team to talk about budget plans and to work on development of theme areas.

Jerry Effertz referenced an SBARE brochure referring to duties and responsibilities, noting a requirement to meet needs of citizens, not needs of NDSU. He stressed that relationships important to SBARE include the general public, NDSU and institutional subgroups, ag producer groups, ag commodities, and the Legislature.

Effertz stated that he appreciated SBARE’s attention over the past two days, commenting that they were provided with an incredible amount of information. He referred members to the policy book provided by Mel Nelson and asked them to review the process diagrams included in the book. He encouraged all to reread the role statement in light of the diverse input gathered and added that it is important to extend the discussion, including the member legislators.

Carol Goodman said board members should step back and relook at the policy handbook, stating that it includes great possibilities and certain pieces could be used as resources to help SBARE do their job.

Effertz asked board members if they prefer to use subcommittees to review the vast amount of information submitted or they preferred to review as a full board and the consensus was to review as a board.

Effertz asked for board approval to deal with housekeeping issues that may come up by appointing a governance committee and members approved.

After tentatively setting their next meeting for December 13 in Bismarck, the meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson


Back to list of minutes
Back to main SBARE page

North Dakota State University, Morrill Hall 314, NDSU Dept. 7520, PO Box 6050, Fargo, North Dakota 58108-6050, PHONE: 701-231-7656


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.