State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

June 10-11, 1999, Fargo

State Board of Agricultural Research
Minutes - June 10-11, 1999
Alumni Center, Fargo, North Dakota


The State Board of Agricultural Research met beginning at 1:00 p.m. on June 10, 1999 at the Alumni Center in Fargo, North Dakota. Members present were: Tom Archbold, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Joseph Chapman, Brad Cogdill (for Sharon Anderson), Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Cole Gustafson, Jody Hauge, George Heller, Patricia Jensen, Burdell Johnson, Dale Reimers, Jeff Weispfenning (for Roger Johnson), and Mark Weber.

Chair Jerry Doan welcomed new NDSU President Joseph Chapman to his first board meeting and also introduced Maynard Helgaas and Neal Fisher, who officially become SBAR(E) members on July 1, 1999.

Sylvia Daws made a motion to approve the minutes of the May 14, 1999 meeting. Dale Reimers seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved. Tim Bryan noted that the minutes of all State Board of Agricultural Research meetings are posted on the website --

Doan introduced two state senators who were present at the meeting - Senator David Nething and Senator Kenneth Solberg.

Senator Nething first thanked the group for their efforts over the past two years. He indicated that he had been involved in the introduction of the "Market Opportunities for Biotechnologically Enhanced Crops in North Dakota" initiative because he sees it as important to the future of agriculture in North Dakota. He talked about the importance of the initiative and requested SBAR support.

Senator Solberg talked to the group about the challenges he sees for SBAR as they look out for the future of agriculture in North Dakota. He indicated that legislators are not in a position to micro manage SBAR business and intend to allow the board to do their work and prove to the legislature that they are willing and able to move agriculture forward in the state.

Cole Gustafson introduced department chairs and research center directors involved with initiatives approved by the legislature and they gave short summaries of the initiatives as review for board members. Following the reviews, the board was to decide where to make funding changes to stay within the mandated funding level.

The recommendation from the chairs/directors was to transfer $50,000 (offered by Berryhill from savings in Animal Disease Prevention initiative) to High Value Irrigated Crops initiative; decrease Mid-size Traditional Farms initiative by $42,000; and cut the Value-Added Agriculture Center ($100,000).

Following discussion relating to prioritization of the initiatives, Ryan Brooks made a motion to approve initiatives 1-7 as presented (taking $50,000 from Animal Disease Prevention offered by Berryhill). Mark Weber seconded the motion. After discussion Tim Bryan moved and George Heller seconded a motion to table the main motion. Following a vote, the motion was tabled.

The consensus of SBAR was that the Mid-Sized Traditional Farms initiative should be cut from the priority list because at the funding level proposed there would not be enough money available to carry out the project as intended. The proposal will be refined and brought to SBAR for consideration next session. Tim Bryan made a motion to cut the Mid-Size Farms initiative from the list. George Heller seconded the motion, which passed 12-3.

Considering the prioritization list compiled by SBAR, Jody Hauge moved to add $26,000 into the Co-Product Utilization initiative. Mark Weber seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Mark Weber moved to cut $100,000 from the Value-Added Agriculture Center initiative. Sylvia Daws seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Ryan Brooks made a motion to approve initiatives 9-13 as they were presented; Dale Reimers seconded the motion. Tim Bryan indicated he was not comfortable proceeding in that manner and once again moved to table the main motion. Mark Weber seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

Before the meeting was to recess for the day, Chair Jerry Doan presented gifts of appreciation and expressed thanks for service to outgoing members Dale Reimers and Mark Weber.

The State Board of Agricultural Research reconvened at 8:45 a.m. Friday, June 11. Sharon Anderson was present for the meeting. Mark Weber and Dale Reimers were unable to attend the second day.

After reviewing the actions of the previous day, Tom Archbold made a motion to restore $14,000 to the Crop Protection initiative, which was number one on the SBAR priority list. Sylvia Daws seconded the motion, which passed 12-1.

Cole Gustafson complimented the chairs and directors for their hard work and their willingness to work between budgets to move the initiative package forward. Following discussion, George Heller moved to allow the Vice President flexibility to move dollars within the initiatives as long as the integrity of the programs is maintained. Ryan seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Following completion of the budget discussion, Burdell Johnson made a motion to approve the revised budget for the initiative package. Tom Archbold seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

John Lukach, Langdon Research Extension Center Director, and Carol Goodman, Cavalier County Job Development Authority Executive Director, talked with the board about a proposed learning center at Langdon and asked for support and approval to take the proposal to the State Board of Higher Education. The plan also calls for reorganization of staff at the research extension center. Joe Chapman suggested SBAR be given time to review and evaluate the information shared, with response to come at a future meeting. Ryan Brooks did make a motion to allow administration to proceed with work on replacement of the director for the research extension center. Burdell seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Larry Beard, Director of the North Dakota Agricultural Statistics Service, talked to the board about the products his unit offers and indicated their mission was to provide service to the agricultural community. Each board member was given a copy of the 1997 North Dakota Census of Agriculture.

In response to questions raised at the last meeting, Joe Chapman told members of SBAR that there would be no overhead charges on gifts received from commodity groups for research efforts.

Lori Capouch, administrator for the Ag Research Fund, talked with the board and presented recommendations to improve the grant application and approval process. Board members will review the proposed changes and make final decision on the recommendations at the next SBAR meeting.

There was discussion among board members relating to who should be eligible to vote on the granting committees. Burdell Johnson made a motion to have Lori Capouch inform the granting committees that all voting members must be from North Dakota with the majority of voters being producers. Tom Archbold seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Lori Capouch also provided her proposed contract for services to administer the research fund for the next two years. Following a review by board members, Sharon Anderson moved to approve the contract as submitted. Sylvia Daws seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Patricia Jensen reminded the board that the agriculture budget will be submitted to SBHE on or about June 18. She explained guidelines for distribution of salary dollars with regard to performance, critical needs and reallocation.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.