State Board of Agricultural Research and Education


| Share

November 24-25, 1997, Fargo

State Board of Agricultural Research
Minutes - November 24-25, 1997
Fargo, North Dakota


The State Board of Agricultural Research met November 24, 1997 on the NDSU campus, Loftsgard Hall at 9:00 a.m. Members present were: Sharon Anderson, Tom Archbold, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Jody Hauge, George Heller, Pat Jensen, Burdell Johnson, Roger Johnson, Bob Nowatzki, Tom Plough, Dale Reimers, and Robert Todd.

Chairman Jerry Doan called the meeting to order. Minutes of the October meeting were approved.

Doan indicated the schedule for the two-day session will be a review of agricultural research programs in the plant science area.

The group was given sample letterhead and information on a web site to review and refine. Following discussion, Ryan Brooks made a motion to proceed with activation of the SBAR web site as presented, with the addition of addresses and phone numbers of board members. Tom Archbold seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved. The web site address will be The letterhead sample was also approved for SBAR use.

Pat Jensen gave a brief update on the experiment station director's search.

Chairman Doan indicated that information on the agricultural research fund will be provided to board members at the next meeting. Several members suggested that board members share information about the fund with constituents as opportunities arise.

Tom Plough indicated that the State Board of Higher Education will request the chair of the State Board of Agricultural Research appear at their meetings quarterly to provide information and updates on SBAR business, especially relating to budgets.

The business meeting adjourned at 10 a.m. and program reviews were presented the rest of the day and the following morning.

The SBAR reconvened for additional business at 1 p.m. Tuesday, November 25 after program presentations were completed.

Following discussion about distribution of oil royalties from a tract at the Dickinson Research Extension Center, Bob Nowatzki made a motion to request that Chancellor Larry Isaak seek an opinion from the attorney general regarding equitable distribution of royalties. Tom Archbold seconded the motion and a roll call vote was taken with unanimous approval. A letter requesting the opinion will be submitted by Jerry Doan on behalf of the SBAR.

Pat Jensen and Jerry Doan will attend a budget section meeting of the Legislative Council on December 3, when capital improvement projects at North Dakota universities will be on the agenda. Tom Archbold made a motion for the SBAR to go on record in support of a Phase I/Phase II approach for building the animal care facility at NDSU. Dale Reimers seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Sharon Anderson shared materials that are being distributed in a comprehensive educational effort to help people in the state deal with the many stresses they have encountered over the last year in their farming and business operations.

Anderson noted the Extension Service and the Soil Conservation Service are making very positive progress in the merging relationship.

Sharon Anderson updated the SBAR on the contacts being made to help with funding for a person to work in community development, indicating she has had very positive reactions to the position and program.

The SBAR discussed the meeting dates for the next three months and decided to meet in Fargo for the last of the program reviews December 15-16 in Loftsgard Hall. Other tentative dates are January 19-20 and February 23-24 with locations yet to be determined. The January and February meetings will focus on budget preparations.

The meeting adjourned at 2:35 p.m.
Recorded by Margaret Olson


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.