NDSU Extension - Ransom County


| Share

Crop & Livestock Association (Agriculturalist of the Year)

horizontal line with yellow and green colors


Ransom County Crop & Livestock Improvement Association

The scholarship is available to high school seniors and individuals who are attending a post-secondary institution and will not be graduating in the spring of 2020.  The applicant's family must be a resident of Ransom County, ND.  Applicants must be pursuing a degree in an agricultural related field.  More information and the application are found on the following links.


Application Form (PDF)  - postmarked no later than February 1, 2020

Application Form (Word) - postmarked no later than February 1, 2020

To top




Agriculturalist of the Year Banquet - canceled

Due to COVID-19 and the safety of those who may attend the event we have decided to cancel the annual banquet for 2020.  We look forward to planning  Nominations are due February 1 to either AgCountry Farm Credit Services at (701) 683-4172, or the Ransom County Extension Service at (701) 683-6128.

Agriculturalist of the Year Nomination Form (pdf)

Agriculturalist of the Year Nomination Form (fillable Word)

Agriculturalist of the Year Selection Procedure

Businesses can sponsor by selecting the following formats which will give them two tickets for the meal:

Full page ad (7"x8.5")                            $200 black & white       or   $250 full color
Half page ad (7"x4")                               $150 black & white       or    $200 full color
One business name listed                      $50
Two/jointly owned businesses                $70

Individuals can purchase a ticket for $20.00 per person.  Tickets can be obtained from any Crop & Livestock director or at the Ransom County Extension office.



2019 Agriculturalist of the Year


Warren "Bud" Lyons

This year’s Agriculturalist of the Year grew up on the family farm East of Lisbon on the same farm his grandparents established.  While growing up he milked cows, picked rock, hauled bales and learned everything about farming from his father.  He attended and graduated from Lisbon High School.  He was the oldest of 9 children and shortly after his graduation his father passed away.  This left him to become a full time farmer and father figure to his younger siblings.  He started dating his eventual wife in the spring of 1962 and they married in the fall of 1963.  They lived in a small 1 bedroom house that was moved onto the home farm until 1967 when they purchased a farm 2 miles North of the home farm.

The current operation is run by his sons and grandson which includes about 4000 acres of which 60% of it is owned and run a feedlot that has a capacity of 700 head.  Half the acres are used to grow soybeans each year while the remaining acres are split between wheat and corn and grown under irrigation.  Every 3rd year the irrigated acres are rented out to grow potatoes on.  The farm has also incorporated several conservation practices which include no-till, nutrient – pest management, cover crops, they have established windbreaks, and put land into the CRP program.  They implemented no-till practices approximately 20 years ago.

He maintains a strong presence in the community.  He was a Ransom County representative to the ND Wheat Commission from 1985-1997, He served on the Sheldon Elevator board for 25 years, he was a director for the ND Garrison Diversion Board of Directors for 16 years, he is a Charter Member of the Lisbon Knights of Columbus Lisbon Council and has served two terms as Grand Knight.  He currently serves on the St. Aloysius Parish Council, he was a member of the Sheyenne Valley Eagles and is a member of the Lisbon Senior Center.  He is also a member of the Ransom County Crop and Livestock Improvement Association and has maybe only missed one banquet, and that was due to having surgery during the same time period.  There are many other boards and associations he has been actively involved with over the years.

Honors and recognitions he has received over the years many placings in the National Corn Growers Association contests for either being runner up or 3rd place in the ND irrigated division.  They were also recognized several times by the Dekalb Yieldmasters Club for their outstanding corn yields. The farm was also honored by the American Simmental Association with an Excellence Award for Outstanding Performance.  In 1990 they received the Knights of Columbus District #22 “Family of the Year” award and in 2016 he was honored with the Seim-Forred award.

He loves his F150 pickup and drives around checking crops and irrigators.  He was an avid bowler, and loves playing cards.  He tells his sons he’ll help until 2:30 and then he is heading to town for coffee with the guys.

Warren has been married to his lovely bride of 55 years Carmen and they have 3 grown children, Angelynn and her husband Bob Reiger, Bill and his wife Tracey and their 2 kids Aleigha and Ausha, Mike and his wife Lori and their 2 kids Megan and Derek

Congratulations, Warren "Bud" Lyons, as the 2019 Ransom County Agriculturalist of the Year.




Past Agriculturalist of the Year Recipients

* Denotes Deceased

1965-  Albert Strand *
1966-  Wesley Tanner *
1967-  R.D. Magill *
1968-  Alf Larson *
1969-  Oscar Ringdahl*
1970-  Wesley Leibbrand *
1971-  Joe Milton *
1972-  Lawrence Dick *
1973-  Earl Sulerud *
1974-  Albert Cross *
1975-  Lloyd Forness *
1976-  Russell M. Bueling  *
1977-  Vernon Dagman *
1978-  John Kaspari *
1979-  Neal B. Coit *
1980-  Levi Carlson*
1981-  Walfred Billing*
1982-  Richard Torbenson *
1983-  Alden Cavett *
1984-  Raymond Stroh *
1985-  Jonathon "Mike" Flatt *
1986-  Wyman Galbreath*
1987-  Ardell Slattum *
1988-  Ervin Bartholomay *
1989-  Louis "Bud" Qual *
1990-  Art Alexander *
1991-  Marvin Bartle *
1992-  Ilef Olerud *
1993-  Wayne Muilenburg *
1994-  Robert J. Lloyd *
1995-  Maynard Hitchcock *
1996-  Irvin "Dale" Morrison *
1997-  Merle Lemnus *
1998-  Richard Dick *
1999-  Alfred "Bud" Nord *
2000-  Ernest Fadness*
2001-  Alex Rotenberger *
2002-  Harry Hakanson *
2003-  Paul J. Spiekermeier*
2004-  Charles Rotenberger
2005-  Richard Huether *
2006-  Norman "Tony" Brown *
2007-  James "Jim" Dick
2008 - Norm Cross *
2009 - Warren Wiltse
2010 - Ronald Sagvold
2011 - Leo Lyons *
2012 - George Petrich *
2013 - Argil Froemke
2014 - Robert "Bob" Reinke
2015 - Glenn Weisenhaus *
2016 - Dave Utke
2017 - Ardis Taylor
2018 - Dr. Andrew Peterson



To top


2019 Crop & Livestock Improvement Association

Board of Directors:

President - Travis Dagman, Producer
Vice-President - Jeremy Erdmann, Producer
Secretary/Treasurer - Brian Zimprich

Kyle Huether, Producer
Ryan Lyons, Producer
Eric Mairs, Producer
Jeff Lyons, Producer
Thatcher Peterson, Producer
Jon Qual, Producer
Aaron Seykora, Industry Rep.

To top

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.