Plant Sciences


| Share

2013 Symposium

2013 Symposium Participants
2013 Symposium Participants

The 29th Annual Plant Science Graduate Student Symposium, “Supporting Life through Agricultural Innovation,” was held at NDSU on March 22-23. The NDSU Plant Sciences Graduate Student Association planned and hosted the event, led by the association officers and a 20 member organizing committee.  60 participants attended from NDSU, the University of Manitoba, and the University of Saskatchewan. Symposium events included NDSU facilities tours, invited speakers, participant research presentations, a banquet, and social activities.

Dr. Wes Jackson, president of the Land Institute in Salina, Kansas, gave the opening keynote address “When Ecology Comes to Agriculture.”  Dr. Justin Faris, NDSU graduate and wheat geneticist at the USDA-ARS in Fargo, gave a presentation titled “Wheat domestication: Unlocking the secrets to agricultural revolutions past and future.”  Dr. John Soper, NDSU graduate and vice president of Crop Genetics Research and Development for Pioneer Hybrid, gave the closing banquet address “Next Generation Agriculture.”

Research presentations by graduate students from the participating universities were judged and scored by a panel of NDSU Plant Sciences and Plant Pathology faculty.  Presentation categories included Agronomy, Weed Science, Plant Ecology and Physiology; Plant Genetics and Breeding; and Plant Pathology.  First, second and third place awards were presented at the closing banquet.  Winners in Agronomy, Weed Science, Plant Ecology and Physiology were: first place, Laura Jefferies (Univ. of Saskatchewan); second place, Danielle Fiebelkorn (NDSU); and third place, Osvaldo Teuber (NDSU).  Winners in Plant Genetics and Breeding were:  first place, Courney Thompson (Univ. of Saskatchewan); second place, Mona Mazaheri (NDSU); and third place, Kayla Lindenback (Univ. of Saskatchewan).  Winners in Plant Pathology were: first place, Jon Richards (NDSU); second place, Lisa Malo (Univ. of Saskatchewan); and third place Marley Boyce (Univ. of Manitoba).  Click here to see photos of the award winners.

Symposium sponsors included DuPont Pioneer, CHS Foundation, NDSU Department of Plant Sciences, NDSU Graduate School, NDSU Provost’s Office, Monsanto, Amity Technology, ND Barley Council, and the NDSU Plant Sciences research projects of Dr. Phil McClean, Dr. Mohamed Mergoum, and Dr. Susie L. Thompson.

The NDSU Plant Sciences Graduate Student Association is advised by Dr. Burton Johnson, professor of Plant Sciences.

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.