Plant Sciences


| Share

Alumni Celebrate 50th Anniversary of Doctoral Degrees

This year North Dakota State University marked the 50th anniversary of conferring doctoral degrees. Doctoral alumni were invited to celebrate this milestone.
Alumni Celebrate 50th Anniversary of Doctoral Degrees

NDSU Plant Sciences and Cereal Science doctoral alumni and faculty at the Doctoral Degree 50th Anniversary reception

A milestone was reached in 2013 when North Dakota State University marked the 50th anniversary of conferring doctoral degrees.  The first doctoral graduating class in 1963 had a total 5 graduates, of which Dr. Frank “Ed” LeGrand was the lone Agronomy graduate. Since that time more than 250 Ph.D. candidates in Agronomy, Cereal Science, Crop and Weed Sciences and Plant Sciences have received degrees from NDSU. Dr. LeGrand was honored during spring commencement (see more at  and also at

During a campus-wide Doctoral Alumni Reunion on September 20, Plant Sciences and Cereal Science sponsored a reception and tour of Loftsgard and Harris Halls for department doctoral graduates and faculty. Graduates attending, and year of graduation, included Cal Messersmith, 1970, Plant Sciences Professor Emeritus; Duane Berglund, 1971, Plant Sciences Professor Emeritus; Jerry Miller, 1975; Mary Evenson, 1976; Edward Retzinger, 1980; Bill Niehaus, 1981; Pat Berglund, 1984, Cereal Science Professor Emeritus; Adrian Moses, 1985; Frank Manthey, 1985, current Cereal Science faculty; Paul Schwarz, 1987, current Cereal Science faculty; Richard  Horsley, 1988, current Plant Sciences faculty and department head; Burton Johnson, 1993, current Plant Sciences faculty; Marisol Berti, 2007, current Plant Sciences faculty; and AndreaTravnicek, 2008.

Dr. Richard Horsley, current department head, says that “industry employers continue to return to our department seeking doctoral graduates, which illustrates the high quality of NDSU Plant Sciences graduate students.” Currently, 60 M.S. and 43 Ph.D. students are enrolled in Horticulture, Cereal Science and Plant Sciences graduate programs.  

50th Anniversary Doctoral Reception Collage

Collage Pictures (clockwise from top left):
Frank Manthey and Adrian Moses; Cereal Science faculty and alumni (Senay Simsek, Mary Evenson, Pat Berglund, Paul Schwarz, Cliff Hall, Frank Manthey); Bill and Mary Niehaus; Mary Evenson and Cliff Hall; Touring Loftsgard Hall; Andrea Travnicek and Louise Heinz; Marisol Berti and Jerry Miller; Alan Zuk and Edward “Jamie” Retzinger

Group Photo in Center (left to right):
Front row: Marisol Berti, Mary Evenson, Pat Berglund, Andrea Travnicek
Back row: Richard Horsley, Bill Niehaus, Burton Johnson, Adrian Moses, Jerry Miller, Cal Messersmith, Ed Retzinger, Frank Manthey, Duane Berglund, Larry Evenson, Senay Simsek

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.