You are here: Home Newsreleases Farm/Ranch Succession Planning Workshops Set
 
Document Actions

Farm/Ranch Succession Planning Workshops Set

The workshops will help shape the future of the family farm or ranch.

Many North Dakota farmers and ranchers are approaching retirement age but aren’t sure how to transition their operation to the next generation, while beginning farmers and ranchers want to secure their future in agriculture.

In many cases, generations of farmers or ranchers are working together but have yet to take the needed steps toward succession planning.

To help all of them develop a plan, the North Dakota State University Extension Service is offering Design Your Succession Plan workshops at several locations throughout the state in the next six months.

The workshop will help farm and ranch families explore what they want for their business, whether that’s transferring a viable business to the next generation or deciding how to divide the farm or ranch assets. The workshop also gives the owner and identified successor generation an opportunity to begin shaping the future ownership of the family farm or ranch - the family legacy.

Participants also will learn how to discuss the succession issue with the family, get started on developing a succession plan, and choose and work with legal and financial professionals who will help ensure the plan is workable. By beginning the planning process at this workshop and continuing it at home, families could save money by being more prepared to visit with professionals.

Here are the locations, dates and times of the workshops, along with contact information for the Extension agents who can provide more details:

  • Devils Lake - Oct. 27, Nov. 3 and 10, 6 p.m., Armory Meeting Room; contact Brenda Langerud, 701-662-7027 or brenda.langerud@ndsu.edu
  • Dickinson - Nov. 1 and 3, 5:30 p.m., Dickinson Research Extension Center; contact Samantha Roth, 701-456-7665 or samantha.e.roth@ndsu.edu
  • Towner - Nov. 14, 17 and 21, 5:30 p.m., NDSU Extension Service’s McHenry County office; contact Callie Johnson, 701-537-5405 or callie.johnson@ndsu.edu
  • Langdon - Nov. 15 and 17, 5:30 p.m., Langdon Research Extension Center; contact Macine Lukach, 701-256-2560 or macine.lukach@ndsu.edu
  • McClusky - Nov. 17, 21 and 22, 5:30 p.m., Sheridan County Courthouse; contact Nicole Wardner, 701-363-2242 or nicole.wardner@ndsu.edu
  • Kindred - Nov. 21 and 28, Dec 5, 5:30 p.m., Kindred City Hall; contact Rita Ussatis, 701-241-5700 or rita.ussatis@ndsu.edu
  • New Rockford - Nov. 21 and 28, Dec. 1, 6 p.m., NDSU Extension Service’s Eddy County office; contact Tim Becker, 701-947-2454 or tim.becker@ndsu.edu
  • Wishek - Nov. 21 and 28, Dec. 5, 5:30 p.m., Raile Insurance Building; contact Crystal Schaunaman, 701-288-5180 or crystal.schaunaman@ndsu.edu
  • Jamestown - Nov. 29, Dec. 5 and 6, 5:30 p.m., NDSU Extension Service’s Stutsman County office; contact Alicia Harstad, 701-252-9030 or alicia.harstad@ndsu.edu
  • Watford City - Nov. 29, Dec. 1 and 6, 1:30 p.m., NDSU Extension Service’s McKenzie County office building; contact Marcia Hellandsaas, 701-444-3451 or marcia.hellandsaas@ndsu.edu
  • Washburn - Dec. 6, 8 and 13, 6 p.m., North Dakota 4-H Camp; contact Calandria Edwards, 701-462-8541 or calandria.jarboe@ndsu.edu
  • Williston - Dec. 6 and 13, 1:30 p.m., Williston Research Extension Center; contact Danielle Steinhoff, 701-577-4595 or danielle.steinhoff@ndsu.edu
  • Napoleon - Jan. 3, 9 and 10, 2017, 6 p.m., Logan County Courthouse; contact Sheldon Gerhardt, 701-754-2504 or sheldon.gerhardt@ndsu.edu
  • Cavalier - Jan. 9 and 10, 2017, 6 p.m., Pembina County Courthouse; contact Samantha Lahman, 701-265-8411 or samantha.lahman@ndsu.edu
  • Elgin - Jan. 10, 13 and 17, 2017, 11 a.m. Mountain time, Community Center Meeting Room; contact Katie Wirt, 701-622-3470 or katie.wirt@ndsu.edu
  • Grand Forks - Jan. 17, 24 and 31, 2017, 5:30 p.m., NDSU Extension Service’s Grand Forks County office; contact Willie Huot, 701-780-8229 or willie.huot@ndsu.edu
  • Minot - Feb. 7 and 9, 2017, 5:30 p.m., Ward County Administration Building; contact Paige Brummund, 701-857-6444 or paige.f.brummund@ndsu.edu
  • Oakes - March 14 and 16, 2017, 6 p.m., Oakes Ambulance Training Facility; contact Breana Kiser, 701-349-3249, ext. 2, or breana.s.kiser.3@ndsu.edu

Visit https://www.ag.ndsu.edu/succession for more information about the program.


NDSU Agriculture Communication - Oct. 13, 2016

Source:Crystal Schaunaman, 701-288-5180, crystal.schaunaman@ndsu.edu
Editor:Ellen Crawford, 701-231-5391, ellen.crawford@ndsu.edu
Columns
Spotlight on Economics: Spotlight on Economics: Wading Through the Economics of Drones  (2017-12-14)  Producers need to decide whether a drone really will benefit them before investing in one.  FULL STORY
BeefTalk: BeefTalk: Just When Does One Let the Calves Go?  (2017-12-14)  Match individual managerial skills with the operation and market accordingly.  FULL STORY
Prairie Fare: Prairie Fare: Mrs. Claus Comments on Santa’s Health  (2017-12-14)  A conversation with Mrs. Claus highlights the importance of good eating and health-care habits.  FULL STORY
 
Use of Releases
The news media and others may use these news releases in their entirety. If the articles are edited, the sources and NDSU must be given credit.
 

Powered by Plone, the Open Source Content Management System