You are here: Home Newsreleases 2007 4-H Teams Place in Winter Show Crop Judging Contest
Document Actions

4-H Teams Place in Winter Show Crop Judging Contest

4-H crop judging teams from LaMoure, Grand Forks, Mountrail, Morton and Benson counties place in a North Dakota Winter Show contest.

The LaMoure County team placed first in the senior division of the state 4-H crop judging contest sponsored by the North Dakota Winter Show.

The contest consists of evaluating and ranking four pans each of hard red spring wheat, durum, barley, oats and flax for seed. In addition, contestants identify crop and weed seeds and plants and evaluate samples of hard red spring wheat, barley and soybeans to determine factors that affect market grade. Participants also determine the grade of five samples of hard red spring wheat or durum. The contest was held at the Eagles Club in Valley City.

Members of the LaMoure County team are Kasey Bitz, Lee Slykerman and Robert Huber and alternates Shane Bassen and Bruce Huber.

Teams representing Grand Forks, Mountrail, Morton and Benson counties placed second through fifth, respectively.

Timothy Kraemer from Grand Forks County placed first in individual competition with a score of 1,004 out of a possible 1,200 points.

In the 4-H junior division, the Foster County team placed first. Team members are Caycee Bregel, Erin Endres and Brenna Bregel and alternates Caylor Rosenau, Laura Caylor, Claire Endres, Audra Montgomery and D.J. Polries.

The Grand Forks County team placed second, Mountrail County third, Stark-Billings counties fourth and Richland County fifth.

Caycee Bregel placed first as an individual with a score of 783 out of 800 possible points.

Agriculture Communication

Source:Dean Aakre, (701) 231-8595,
Editor:Ellen Crawford, (701) 231-5391,
Prairie Fare: Prairie Fare: Kitchen Hacks to Prevent Culinary Disasters  (2019-08-15)  An ingredient substitution may save your meal.  FULL STORY
Use of Releases
The news media and others may use these news releases in their entirety. If the articles are edited, the sources and NDSU must be given credit.

Powered by Plone, the Open Source Content Management System