You are here: Home Columns 2015 4-H State Fair Results Youth Place in 4-H Consumer Choices Contest at N.D. State Fair
Document Actions

Youth Place in 4-H Consumer Choices Contest at N.D. State Fair

The consumer choices contest educates youth on making better consumer decisions.

Nearly 70 youth participated in the 4-H consumer choices contest at the 2015 North Dakota State Fair in Minot.

The contest is designed to educate youth about making better consumer decisions. The youth judged classes of items and gave oral reasons for their placing order in some of those classes.

The first-place senior team will participate in the national contest in Denver, Colo., in January.

The top teams and individuals are listed by placing:

Senior Teams

  • First, Walsh County - team members Julia Koppang, Mikayla Fingarson, Rachel Klose, Gretchen Brummond and Emily Zikmund
  • Second, Traill County - team members Abigail Mueller, Holly Johnson, Ethan Johnson, Kristin Wright and Dietrich Schlichtmann
  • Third, Morton County - team members Dalton Sougstad, Brandon Hoines, Brittany Barnhardt, Sophie Lind and Kathryn Goettle
  • Fourth, Cavalier/Stark/Billings counties - team members Caden Tuhy, Jill Lagein, Erin Morstad and Christopher Morstad
  • Fifth, Cass County - team members Bethany Teets, Anna Skarphol and Kendra Karl

Senior Individuals

  • First - Kendra Karl, Cass County
  • Second - Mikayla Fingarson, Walsh County
  • Third - Gretchen Brummond, Walsh County
  • Fourth - Kathryn Goettle, Morton County
  • Fifth - Rachel Klose, Walsh County
  • Sixth - Abigail Mueller, Traill County
  • Seventh - Julia Koppang, Walsh County
  • Eighth - Erin Morstad, Cavalier County
  • Ninth - Claire Anderson, Richland County
  • 10th - Anna Skarphol, Cass County

Junior Teams

  • First, Cass County - team members Sam Radermacher, Tyler Marschke, Josie Mohror and Damon Magney
  • Second, Morton County - team members Grace Berger, Maja Bjelanovic, John Goettle, Sarah Dorrheim and Frankie Barry
  • Third, Mercer County team two - team member Sean Gierke, Brooklyn Keller and Jacob Klaudt
  • Fourth, Wells County - team members Bethany Anderson, Brian Friedt and Nathan Friedt
  • Fifth, Mercer County team one - team members Kayla Gierke, Kelsey McCloud and Rachelle Klein

Junior Individuals

  • First - April Kratcha, Cavalier County
  • Second - Josie Mohror, Cass County
  • Third - Grace Berger, Morton County
  • Fourth - Tyler Marschke, Cass County
  • Fifth - Zachary Lahlum, Wells County
  • Sixth - Brian Friedt, Wells County
  • Seventh - Gabriella Birchmen, Ransom County
  • Eighth - Kelsey McCloud, Mercer County
  • Ninth - Jacob Klaudt, Mercer County
  • 10th - Sean Gierke, Mercer County

NDSU Agriculture Communication - July 27, 2015

For more information, contact your local county office of the NDSU Extension Service. Photos and cutlines may be available at Check your email for the password to access this site.

Source:Dean Aakre, (701) 852-4974,
Writer:Jackie Buckley, (701) 391-7113,
Editor:Ellen Crawford, (701) 231-5391,
Renewable Accounts: Renewable Accounts: E15 fuel could help you, the environment and N.D. farmers  (2019-06-06)  The EPA now allows E15 fuel to be sold year-round.  FULL STORY
Prairie Fare: Prairie Fare: Inspire Your Menus With Fresh Basil  (2019-06-20)  Herbs such as basil flavor food without you having to add salt to recipes.  FULL STORY
Use of Releases
The news media and others may use these news releases in their entirety. If the articles are edited, the sources and NDSU must be given credit.

Powered by Plone, the Open Source Content Management System