ND Joint Council of Extension Professionals


| Share

November 2011

Minutes from the November 1, 2011 North Dakota JCEP Meeting

ND Joint Council of Extension Professionals
November 1, 2011
Fargo, Doublewood Inn



Rich Schmidt - ESP President-Elect, Andrew Thostenson - ESP President, Ron Wiederholt - NDAEA President, Lesley Lubenow - NDAEA President-Elect, Vanessa Hoines - NDEAFCS Past President, Jackie Buckley - ESP Past President, Marcia Hellandsaas - NDEAFCS President-Elect, Donna Anderson - NDAE4-HYW President, Lori Scharmer - NDEAFCS President and Duane Hauck

Donna Anderson opened the meeting.  The secretary minutes were approved as read. 

Duane Hauck Report

·         SBARE update. 

·         Legislative county updates should continue.

·         Director Search.  He hopes by January 1 that someone is named, but not on payroll.  If no one is named by Feb/March, hoping an interim director appointed.

·         Federal funding is very tight.

·         National 4-H. There may be a super committee formed to administer program.

The associations gave their reports.  All concerned about membership issues.

Lesley Lubenow reported on auction.  Auction rotation will be NDEAFSC- 2012; NDA4HYW-2013, ESP-2014, NDAEA-2015.  Andrew Thostenson moved/Vanessa Hoines seconded. Approved.

A discussion on how to capture new extension agents into our associations.  Brainstormed on conference orientation, new workers orientation.  Andrew Thostenson will lead a committee on it.  Donna Anderson, Vanessa Hoines, and Ron Wiederholt will be on committee. 

Visited on federal-style association membership.

Lori Scharmer will do a draft survey addressing “Why aren’t you joining associations?”  Lori will distribute it to group.

The spring meeting date will be done via doodle. Donna Anderson will do this.

Briefly spoke on AgCMS navigation.  Referred to AITAG – Lesley Lubenow is a member.

Meeting adjourned.

Submitted by: Lesley Lubenow, NDAEA


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.