





The TREES AWARDS recognize individuals, organizations and agencies who contribute in an outstanding way to forestry activities.

Forestry activities can include: fire mitigation, protection and suppression; tree planting, preservation, or maintenance; community forestry efforts; forest management practices; forest recreation; or environmental education.

Winners and their families are invited to a recognition event and attend an NDSU Bison football game as our special guests.

Forest Stewardship Landowner of the Year

The Forest Stewardship Landowner of the Year is selected by NDFS Forest Stewardship Staff to recognize private landowners who go above and beyond in their efforts to protect, enhance and preserve their forest resources.

Past Award Recipients

2019 Dan Vogel, Fargo
2018 Holly and Barry Mawby, Esmond
2016 Brad Kingery, Cavalier
2015 David and Katherine Axvig, Edinburg
2014 Miles Hoff, Moorhead, MN (Forest in Cavalier County)
2012 Tom Lehar, Milton
2013 Ardon Herman, Brinsmade
2011 Richard and Jacqueline Rutherford, Grafton
2010 Kevin and Ron Hartl, Enderlin
2009 Randy & Phil Engen, Tolna
2008 James Bowers, MN (Forest in Bottineau County)
2007 Kent, Lorry and Craig Bergeron, Argusville
2006 Charles and Ernesdean Murphy, Porcupine
2005 Victor Thompson Jr., Oakes
2004 John and Jennifer Hanson, Bowman

2003 Bruce Pantzke, Fargo 2002 Richard & Roxanne Glines, Adams County 2001 Albert & Dorothy LaCoste, Walhalla 2000 Phillip & Cynthia Johnston, Forest River 1999 Daniel & Karen Lindberg, Stanley 1998 Park River Bible Camp 1997 David & Shirley Raney, Drayton 1996 Keith and Leslie Ogden, Cavalier