ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science


ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science

| Share

October 2018

North Dakota NEAFCS Meeting Minutes
Fall 2018

The meeting was called to order by President Kayla Carlson on October 24, 2018, at 5:00 p.m. at the Radisson Hotel, Van Gough-Remington Room, Bismarck, ND.

Attending: Kayla Carlson, Rita Ussatis, Cindy Klapperich, Vanessa Hoines, Kristi Berdal, Donna Anderson, Lynette Flage, Ellen Bjelland, Karen Armstrong, Marcia Hellandsaas, Macine Lukach, Julie Garden Robinson, Dena Kemmet, Liz Larson, Kari Helgoe, Susan Milendar

Guests: Alice Westby, Kotolin Quale, Kim Ruliffson

Extension Director Report: Greg Lardy

Secretary Report: was presented with no additions or corrections. Motion to approve by Julie Garden Robinson, seconded by Donna Anderson. Motion carried.

Treasurer’s Report: Donna Anderson reported the checking account balance is $6,020.66. The 4-H Foundation account balance as of October 19, 2018 was $11,437.84. 

Marcia Hellandsaas moved to approve treasurer’s report with correction total assets date be October 19, 2018, Susan Milender, seconded. Motion carried.

Noted, Lori Scharmer declined retirement dollars. Donna Anderson to contact Brenda Langerud per her monetary retirement gift.

Committee Reports

Awards/Recognition- Julie Garden Robinson was recognized as regional and national Communications winner for written press release. Encouraged members to nominate or apply for upcoming regional awards.

Member Resources- Ellen Bjelland reported attending section meeting in San Antonio, TX, with push to recruit new members. Please think who to invite. Video explaining benefits of membership available on website. Welcomed new members, Liz Larson and Lynette Flage.

Public Affairs- Vanessa Hoines encouraged members to promote the “Dine In” with Us! (Dec. 3) and Living Well (March) campaigns. Information and materials on national site. Julie Garden Robinson has worked hard on behalf of National committee on the importance of Impact Reports and encourages members to submit impactful information. Motion by Macine Lukach to honor Deb Gebeke as 2019 Friend of NDNEAFCS, seconded Vanessa Hoines. Motion carried.

Professional Development- Marcia Hellandsaas – proposed to hold a professional day together, committee members are Donna Anderson, Ellen Bjelland, Vanessa Hoines. Doodle poll to be sent out to members for future dates.

State Fair Representative- Ellen Bjelland- annual meeting November 15, 2018. Marcia Hellandsaas will attend.  

4-H Foundation Representative- No report.

Administrative Update - Lynette Flage stressed importance of FCW advocates sharing their stories and letters of support with legislators about FCW programming. Myron and Muriel Johnsrud award for Early Career Award to change, will be new through Epsilon Sigma Phi to help with professional development. Upcoming discussion with specialists and southeast agents around reframing current challenges. Lynette to get further feedback from agents across the state in upcoming months.

Old Business:

Retirement gifts given to Chris Boerboom and Deb Gebeke.

2018 NEAFCS conference report – Vanessa reported on downsizing lesson, shared to Google drive for members, also Fixing Funky Foods found in grocery stores (download directly from Barber County, Kansas State); Ellen reported on FCS volunteer program to help expand FCS programming opportunities with quality control; also encouraged exploring NEAFCS website with trove of information; Julie attended Culinary Institute and hands on cooking Spanish and Mediterranean foods.

New Business:

Vanessa Hoines moved to nominate Rita Ussatis for Vice President, Julie Garden-Robinson, seconded. Vanessa Hoines moved to close nominations, Marcia Hellandsaas seconded. Motion carried.

Committee asked to review bylaws and update wording within Constitution. Committee members are Macine Lukach, Rita Ussatis, and Julie Garden Robinson.

National perspective (Julie Garden-Robinson) registration fee scholarship/stipends available for showcase of excellence speakers and poster presenters to attend 2019 NEAFCS national conference. New NEAFCS pin and bracelet available for purchase at conference.

Motion Vanessa Hoines moved to support sending Kayla Carlson to spring 2019 JCEP conference, Rita seconded. Motion carried.

Memberships due December 15, 2018 to Donna Anderson. $100 national, $50 state, membership free for first year member. Invite new members to join NDNEAFCS Facebook page.

Ellen Bjelland moved to adjourn. Macine Lukach seconded.



Kari Helgoe, Secretary

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.