ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science


ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science

| Share

October 2017

North Dakota NEAFCS Meeting Minutes

Fall 2017


The meeting was called to order by President Julie Garden-Robinson on October 24, 2017, at 4:45 p.m. in the Embassy Room at Holiday Inn in Fargo, ND, during Extension Fall Conference.

Attending: Acacia Stuckle, Ellen Bjelland, Callie Johnson, Donna Anderson, Shaundra Ziemann-Bolinske, Janet Wanek, Marcia Hellandsaas, Vanessa Hoines, Karen Bettenhausen, Brenda Langerud, Holly Arnold, Alison Brennan, Molly Soeby, Deb Gebeke, Karen Armstrong, Kristi Berdal, Macine Lukach, Rita Ussatis, Deb Lee, Dena Kemmet, Jane Strommen, Cindy Klapperich, Kayla (Bakewell) Carlson, Carmen Rath-Wald, Julie Garden-Robinson, Kari Helgoe

Guests: Chris Boerboom, Liz Larson, Kim Ruliffson

Extension Director Chris Boerboom answered members’ questions regarding Extension changes and proposed funding structures.

SECRETARY REPORT: Motion (Molly Soeby) to approve secretary’s report, seconded (Callie Johnson) and passed.

TREASURER’S REPORT: Donna Anderson reported the checking account beginning balance (October 20, 2017): $5,480.19. 4-H Foundation account balance (August 31, 2015): $11,361.30.


Awards/Recognition (Christina Rittenbach) - Julie Garden-Robinson reported:

Several members received regional and national awards and recognition at the NEAFCS Conference in Omaha, NE, in October - Brenda Langerud, Kristi Berdal (Continued Excellence, 3rd place national award); Julie Garden-Robinson (two - 2nd place regional awards)

ND National Executive Board members:

  • Ellen Bjelland – Central Regional Director
  • Julie Garden-Robinson – Vice President Public Affairs

Online system for awards application opens December 1, 2017. State deadline for awards is February 15, 2018; national deadline is March 15, 2018. Awards applications must be submitted online at neafcs.org.


Member Resources (Ellen Bjelland):

Reported national association exploring idea that benefit of membership be access to national database of lesson plans. Encouraged members to submit proposals for awards. Upcoming member webinars detailing submitting award-winning applications.

Public Affairs (Vanessa Hoines):

2017 Friend of NEAFCS awarded to North Dakota Farmers Union at recognition luncheon. Impact reports highlighting ND programming for the national website encouraged to be coordinated, complete and funneled to Vanessa. First-timer PILD scholarships ($300) available.

Professional Development (open)

A Science and Our Food Supply (FDA curriculum) training was held in Burleigh County in July.

State Fair (Ellen Bjelland)

Meeting upcoming in November, no new report.

4-H Foundation Representative (Deb Lee):

Dakota Access Pipeline awarded 4-H Foundation $35,000 for seven ND counties. Executive committee is moving forward hiring part-time staff.

FCS Promotional Committee (Shaundra Ziemann-Bolinske):

Form working committee for promotional options for Family and Community Wellness name change, coordinate with Deb Gebeke.


Members attending the NEAFCS Annual Conference in Omaha, NE, shared best practices.


Dining In – November 3rd

Living Well – committee group

Constitution and Bylaws – president appoint committee members to review


Affiliate Annual Report due June 1, 2018

NEAFCS 2018 Annual Session: September 24-27 San Antonio TX

NEAFCS 2019 Annual Session: September 30-October 3-Hershey, PN


Motion (Vanessa Hoines) to adjourn, seconded (Donna Anderson). Meeting adjourned.

Kari Helgoe, Secretary

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.