ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science


ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science

| Share

November 2011

Minutes of the November 2, 2011 NDEAFCS Meeting

Meeting called to order by President Lori Scharmer on November 2, 2011 at 4:00 pm at the Doublewood Inn at Fargo, ND. 

Members present:  Carmen Rath-Wald, Floramay Miller, Karen Armstrong, Marcia Hellandsaas, Peggy R. Anderson, Karla Monson, Vanessa Hoines, Mary Froelich, Donna Anderson, Colleen Svingen, Dena Kemmet, Rita Ussatis, Christina Rittenbach, Brenda Langerud, Megan Ness, Beth Roth, Megan Myrdal, Donna Bernhardt, Julie Garden Robinson, Kristi Berdal, Lori Scharmer.

SECRETARY’S REPORT:  Motion (Marcia Hellandsaas) to accept secretary’s report as emailed.  Seconded (Donna Bernhardt) and approved.

TREASURER’S REPORT: There was no treasurer’s report.  Lori will contact Julie Zikmund and ask her to email the treasurer’s report.


Awards / Recognition (Samantha Roth):  Members are encouraged to apply for awards early.  Brenda Langerud received a regional award for press releases.

Member Resources (Karen Armstrong):  Everyone is encouraged to invite others to join.  Changes in national membership were explained:  Dues ($ 105 includes state and national)  are due December 1.  Checks and completed dues forms may be sent to Lori;  New to NEAFCS is a student membership.  Many “Living Well” cookbooks are still left to sell.  Vanessa has a supply of cookbooks available. 

Public Affairs (Rita Ussatis):  Members are encouraged to attend PILD.

Professional Development (Vanessa Hoines reported for Callie Johnson): Members are urged to take part in NEAFCS Webinars.  Scholarship applications are due in December.  Lori will email more information.

4-H Foundation Representative (Dena Kemmet): Transfer of camp ownership to the ND 4-H Foundation is taking place.

State Fair Representative (Donna Anderson): Contact Donna with any issues concerning the State Fair.

JCEP (Vanessa Hoines):  Vanessa shared options for joining different professional associations within Extension and how dues may be funded.  Lori explained how funding is allocated for members to attend national conferences.

Deb Gebeke, Assistant Director FCS, entered the meeting and gave updates on policies and programming.


NEAFCS has voted to have student memberships available for $40. 

Duane Hauck, Extension Director, entered the meeting.  Duane encouraged members to include SBARE members in county and regional programming.  He gave an update on the Director Search and answered questions from members.


Members are reminded to invite FNP and EFNEP staff to be members.

The NDEAFCS will host the 2012 Fall Extension Conference Auction.  Mary Froelich and Sam Roth volunteered to chair the auction.  Members requested that many messages about the auction be sent out well ahead to remind everyone.

Discussion was held on how/when/where to hold the Spring NDEAFCS meeting, since there will be no Spring Extension Conference in 2012.  Election of officers is held at the Spring meeting. 

Suggestions offered:  

·         Colleen Svingen offered to host a face-to-face meeting

·         Do elections by Survey Monkey

·         An FCS Agent “Day to Ourselves” along with an NDEAFCS meeting

The 2012 NEAFCS meeting will be held in Ohio.  Motion (Vanessa Hoines) that Rita Ussatis locate North Dakota items to donate for the conference.  Seconded (Dena Kemmet) and approved.

Because of the resignation of Treasurer Julie Zikmund, Lori Scharmer was nominated to serve as treasurer.  Motion for the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Lori Scharmer as acting treasurer.  Motion seconded and approved.

Because of the resignation of Secretary Stacey Heggen, Kristi Berdal was nominated to serve the remainder of the secretary’s term.  Motion for the secretary to cast a unanimous ballot for Kristi Berdal as secretary.  Motion seconded and approved.

Meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Kristi Berdal, Secretary

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.