ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science


ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science

| Share

May 2019

North Dakota NEAFCS Meeting Minutes

Spring 2019

The meeting was called to order by President Kayla Carlson on May 14, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. at the Glenn Hill Center, NDSU Campus, Fargo, ND.

Attending: Christina Rittenbach, Rita Ussatis, Vanessa Hoines, Nikki Johnson, Stacy Wang, Kayla Carlson, Lynette Flage, Liz Larson, Katalin Quale, Julie Garden-Robinson, Dena Kemmet, Shaundra Ziemann-Bolinske, Ellen Bjelland, Sara Laite, Cindy Klapperich, Deb Lee, Susan Milender, Kim Bushaw, Karen Armstrong, Jane Strommen, Amanda Dahners, Kari Helgoe, Holly Johnson, Erin Caroline, Rebecca Yarger.

Guest: Greg Lardy updated members on legislative results; current status

Secretary Report: was presented with name (spelling) corrections. Motion to approve by Ellen Bjelland, seconded by Deb Lee. Motion carried.

Treasurer’s Report: Donna Anderson sent treasurer’s report - checking account balance is $5, 488.10. The 4-H Foundation account balance as of January 31, 2019 was $11,468.53.  Motion to approve by Cindy Klapperich, seconded by Rita Ussatis. Motion carried.

Committee Reports

Awards/Recognition- Christina Rittenbach reported that one award application was submitted to Nationals. To increase awareness of awards available and eligibility, handouts distributed

Member Resources- Ellen Bjelland thanked Kayla Carlson for stepping in president’s role; reported 7 new members have joined the association (K. Quale, S. Laite, H. Johnson, N. Johnson, S. Wang, E. Caroline, R. Yarger); ballot for election of officers

Public Affairs- Vanessa Hoines gave an update on J. Garden-Robinson’s work at the national level; elevator speech examples; encouraged members to put in national impact statement; suggested 2019 Friend of NDNEAFCS – Deb Gebeke.

Professional Development- No official report; national association looking for more webinars

State Fair Representative- Marcia Hellandsaas attended November annual meeting, no report

4-H Foundation Representative- Deb Lee reported Penny Dale positive addition to 4-H Foundation, ways to engage with SBARE members outside of regular stakeholder meetings; new member openings on 4-H Foundation Board; 60+ scholarships; partnering with NDSU Foundation for further donations  

Administrative Update- Lynette updated approaching SBARE listening sessions, how to get constituent groups present, letters of support

Old Business:

Gift and card for Brenda Langerud and Macine Lukach retirements

Accomplishments of affiliate- submit Impact Reports, needs in state, interdisciplinary

Constitutional update – committee brought first reading of updates to constitution; Motion by Rita Ussatis, seconded by Shaundra Ziemann-Bolinske to send back to committee and present at fall meeting, motion carried. (Committee – J. Garden-Robinson, K. Carlson, S. Ziemann-Bolinske)

JCEP Report: Ellen Bjelland and Kayla Carlson attended; reported on servant leadership (email sent)

PILD Conference – Vanessa Hoines recommended volunteering, good learning opportunities, Capitol Hill visits

New Business:

Election of officers presented by member committee - President: Cindy Klapperich; Treasurer: Donna Anderson. Rita Ussatis moved to cast unanimous ballot. Sara Laite second. Motion carried.

National Perspective: Ellen Bjelland, NC Region Director and Julie Garden-Robinson, VP Public Affairs gave update on 85th anniversary celebration. Three members running for national offices – J. Garden-Robinson, VP Awards; V. Hoines, NC Region Director; E. Bjelland, President elect

National NEAFCS Conference Hershey, PA  - looking for someone to bring item for auction, K. Carlson has form

NDEAFCS Strategic Plan – tabled

Opportunities for membership educational and fun group work (Dec. 6-7, 2019) – survey to be distributed

Cindy Klapperich reported that Fall Extension Conference to be an innovative, issue-based working conference

Life members that have passed, Katherine Iverson and Carol Sellie – update to membership list

Holly Johnson moved to adjourn. Christina Rittenbach second.


Kari Helgoe,


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.