ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science


ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science

| Share

March 2010

Minutes of March 31, 2010 NDEAFCS Meeting

ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science
Spring Extension Conference
March 31, 2010


President Vanessa Hoines called the meeting to order at 4:40 p.m. 

June Kraft – Several members made parting comments to June and wished her well in retirement. We enjoyed cake prior to the meeting.

Update from Duane Hauck –

·    SBARE – update was positive

·    Building at Western 4-H Camp – There has been discussion for an official request to fund this project.

·    Some counties will be doing mill levy votes in June.

·    Where we have vacancies, County Commissioners are supportive of Extension.

·    USDA – Top issues identified are in line with what Extension is currently doing.

In attendance: Donna Anderson, Peggy Anderson, Karen Armstrong, Angela Berge, Donna Bernhardt, Ellen Bjelland, Julie Garden-Robinson, Deb Gebeke, Gayle Gette, Stacey Heggen, Marcia Hellandsaas, Vanessa Hoines, Callie Johnson, Dena Kemmet, Cindy Ketterling, June Kraft, Brenda Langerud, Macine Lukach, Karla Monson, Beth Roth, Samantha Roth, Eunice Sahr, Lori Scharmer, Margaret Tweeten, Rita Ussatis, Julie Zikmund

Guests: Sean Brotherson and Christina Rittenbach

Secretary’s report was posted on the website prior to the meeting for review. Peggy Anderson moved to dispense with the reading of the minutes and approve as written, seconded by Samantha Roth. Motion approved.

Treasurer’s Report: Gayle Gette reported a balance of $2,060.98. Gayle presented the proposed 2010-2011 budget which includes $550 total expenses. Donna Anderson moved to approve the proposed budget, seconded by Karen Armstrong. Motion approved.


Awards/Recognition – Sam Roth reported the following awards

·    Continued Excellence – Peggy Anderson

·    Distinguished Service – Julie Garden-Robinson

·    New Professional – Sam Roth

·    Published Photo – Dena Kemmet

·    Research Award – Julie Garden-Robinson

Member Resources – Karen Armstrong introduced guest Christina Rittenbach

Public Affairs – Rita Ussatis

Friend of NDEAFCS Award – Cathy Haarstad

Living Well Resource Books – presented to:
Virginia Clark-Johnson

D.C. Coston

Dr. Dick Hanson Karen Ehrens Duane Hauck Char Heir

Micky Hoven

Nancy Jo Bateman

Tara Maulhasur

Professional Development – Lori Scharmer reported that Ellen Bjelland received $200 for Professional Development Scholarship.

4-H Foundation Representative – Sam Roth reported that Miley Lavold will be the new Foundation Director. The Foundation received a sizeable donation from a former North Dakota resident.

State Fair Board – Donna Anderson reported that the 4-H exhibits were down some in 2009. A major focus now is completing the grand stand project prior to the 2010 State Fair.


 ·    Gift policy for members – Discussion was held about forming a committee to review the current policy. It was decided that the public affairs committee will review this and make a decision.


Election of officers:

·    Stacey Heggen was nominated for Secretary. Sam Roth moved to cast a unanimous ballot, seconded by Macine Lukach. Motion approved.

·    Sam Roth was nominated for Vice President. Macine Lukach moved to cast a unanimous ballot, seconded by Peggy Anderson. Motion approved.

Proposed 2010 Budget

Gayle Gette presented the 2010 proposed budget as part of the treasurer’s report. Discussion was held regarding the possibility of doing more to sell the Living Well cookbooks to raise our available funds. Stacey Heggen, Julie Garden-Robinson, Lori Scharmer, and Gayle Gette agreed to form a committee to review and discuss fundraising.

$300 will be returned to us from Epsilon Sigma Phi. Julie Garden-Robinson moved to approve the proposed budget, seconded by Callie Johnson. Motion approved.


During this time a discussion was held regarding a desire to hold our association meetings in a more emphasis focused gathering rather than at Extension Conferences.


Lori Scharmer attended the annual meeting as the President-elect. The website has been updated and is very user friendly. Nationally FCS positions are being cut and we could see the impact of that in the dues income. 

The following individuals have indicated interest in attending the NEAFCS meeting in Portland, Maine: 

Peggy Anderson, Karen Armstrong, Donna Bernhardt, Ellen Bjelland, Julie Garden-Robinson, Deb Gebeke, Gayle Gette, Vanessa Hoines, June Kraft,
Macine Lukach, Christina Rittenbach. Beth Roth, Eunice Sahr, Lori Scharmer and  Rita Ussatis

Ellen Bjelland moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by June. Meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Dena Kemmet


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.