ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science


ND Extension Association of Family and Consumer Science

| Share

March 1994

Minutes of the March 22, 1994 NDAEHE Meeting

Civic Center, Fargo, ND

President Linda Hauge called the meeting to order.

Peggy Anderson moved, Amy Sorlien seconded that we not read the minutes for the previous meeting. Motion passed. Correspondence was read from Carol Sellie, a recent retiree.

Treasurer Marcia Anderson reported a balance of $1528.53 and distributed an itemized treasurer's report to the membership. Marcia presented the 1994 budget. Marcia moved, Verona Lechler seconded that membership adopt the budget. Motion passed.

INITIATION: Officers conducted the initiation ceremony for two new members, Kristie Jacobson and Dr. Virginia Clark.

Dr. Virginia Clark addressed the membership. Key points are that we must continually remind our organization and the public in a proactive way, that all of the youth and family programs we do are very important to the "food and fiber system"---agriculture; and that the role we play on collaborative teams is "education"-not human service.

Sharon Anderson shared information on her responsibilities as the connection between Youth and Family programming and field operations.

Committee Reports

Distinguished Service--- Margaret Tweten reported that her committee selected Karla Monson to be North Dakota's representative for the Distinguished Service Award. The award will be presented at the National Meeting, October 13, in Wichita, Kansas.

Professional Improvement--- June Kraft announced the recipients of this year's NDAEHE outstanding Home Economist awards: Karen Armstrong- 1 to 5 years service; Vanessa Hoines- 6 to 10 years service. A new NAEHE award for 1994 is the Extension Home Economist of the Year. Congratulations goes to Maxine Frank, our NO candidate for the award. June suggested that since this national award is the highest recognition given to an individual EHE, perhaps a state award or special recognition would also be appropriate for the state Association to consider.

Public Relations--- Marcia Anderson announced the following awards:

Newsletter 1 and 2- Jeanne Hochhalter

Special Team Award- Geri Bosch

Florence Hall Award- Verona Lechler

NDAEHE Para Professional Award- Delores Roy, Dickinson.          

Marcia reported on the progress of developing a state insert for the NAEHE marketing brochure. She also suggested that guidelines should be set for using the brochure. She also asked for suggestions to showcase our state award winners.

Social and Gifts--- Marcia Anderson reported sending retirement cards to Carol Sellie and Don Pederson and a get well card to Pat Machart's husband.

Membership--- Karla Monson clarified our constitution's guidelines for who can belong to our association. That being, only Extension employees working in any capacity with home economics programming be eligible for membership. This would not qualify those staff employed only by the county. Members advised Karla and the committee to send invitations to State Specialists for membership to our Association.

Minority Issue--- Anita Rohde reported that the annual report has been submitted to national; she is working with the national chairman to locate a speaker for the Minority Issues Assembly at the National meeting; and that ND has submitted a $350 donation to the National Diversity Award.

Research and Study --- Pat Machart reported that Connie Weed, Julie Hudson-Schenfisch and Kathy Tweten are working on graduate degrees. Julie will receive her master’s degree in April from the University of Mary, Bismarck. Dr. Clark reported that there is a $60,000 endowment fund at NDSU that can provide assistance to EHE's for professional development opportunities.

Public Policy Education--- Eunice Hauck and Connie Weed reported that an Extension Public Issues Task Force has been appointed and requested to develop a policy statement for the NDSU Extension Service on public issues education. All extension staff will receive a working draft and are asked to provide input to committee members. The Task Force will also be developing a teaching component to be used at multi-county district meetings and fall conference. Connie Weed will represent our association at the National Public Policy and Issues Forum during May 1994.

Nominating Committee--- Anita Rohde and Pat Machart reported the following candidates for the offices of Vice President and Secretary. VICE PRESIDENT-- Sharon Kickertz-Gerbig and Teresa McElroy; SECRETARY-- Linda Berreth, Rita Ussatis and Rita Wilhelmi.


4-H Foundation Representative Julie Schenfisch encouraged counties to invite Curt Almlie to attend their county council meetings.

Discussion was held on the marketing brochure available from NAEHE. Maxine Frank moved that NDAEHE's prepare a North Dakota insert and determine guidelines for its use and distribution. Anita Rohde seconded, the motion passed. Dr. Clark also suggested that we include the source of funding for the insert, NDAEHE, on the insert. A committee of Julie Hudson-Schenfisch and Kathy Tweten will help Marcia Anderson design the insert. Discussion was held on the list of North Dakota Honorary Members for NAEHE. Carol Sellie has been added to the list. National has asked us to forward a current list. The new membership committee was designated to complete this task.


Linda Hauge shared a short video presentation on the 1994 Annual Session, "Beyond the Yellow Brick Road", to be held in Wichita, Kansas, October 9 to 13. Margaret Tweten has registration forms for those interested in attending.

Margaret Tweten reported on the North Central Regional Officers meeting she recently attended. Locations have been set for future national meetings--- 1995- Dallas, Texas; 1996- Baltimore, Maryland; 1997- Galaxy Conference, Cincinnati, Ohio; and 1998- Rapid City, S.D. The Kansas Association has asked ND to donate $50 towards a hospitality room for national meeting. Margaret moved, Verona Lechler seconded that we donate $50. Motion passed. North Dakota was recognized as having made the largest contribution to date for the Cultural Diversity Award ($350).

The national by-laws changes were presented and discussed. Julie Hudson-Schenfisch moved, Peggy Anderson seconded that we accept these changes. Motion passed.

Margaret Tweten explained the structure for her committees. Each of the four districts will be responsible for one of the four committees to be set up.

Discussion was held on how we recognize our state EHE of the Year. Sharon Kickertz-Gerbig moved, Karla Monson seconded that we present an engraved plaque. Motion passed.

Discussion was held on how we should recognize our Paraprofessional Award recipient. A certificate was suggested and will be presented to Delores Roy during this conference.

Rita Ussatis shared information on the NO Nutrition Councils annual meeting and in-service program.

Dr. Virginia Clark invited all members to attend a breakfast meeting, March 23, to discuss the FCE dues and membership concerns. Deb DeWitz, Tappen, representing the NAFCE will attend to answer questions.

Elections were held. Linda Berreth will serve as secretary and Sharon Kickertz-Gerbig will serve as Vice President for the 1994-1996 term.

A special thank you was extended to Linda Hauge, outgoing president, for her efforts during her term as Association President.

President Margaret Tweten adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Merry Green, Secretary


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.