NDSU Extension - Golden Valley & Billings County


| Share


Created from the western portion of Billings County by a favorable vote at the November 10 general election, although litigation delayed its official designation as a county until November 11, 1912. The name was probably chosen for the favorable image it projected although a Golden Valley Land and Cattle Co is known to have been a major land owner here in the early 1900's. Government organized: November 13, 1912.

Golden Valley County consists of 3 communities: Beach, the county seat; Golva and Sentinel Butte.

For more information about the county and it's 3 cities please click on links below

Prairie West Development

North Dakota Association of Counties

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.