For Employees


| Share

You do great work! (11/15/2012)

Award notifications trickle through my inbox throughout the year, but there’s been a steady flow the past month. Some of the award recipients below were recognized at Fall Conference, but not everyone was there, and I’ve learned of some new ones to add to the mix. Join me in a round of applause for these colleagues and their efforts:

  • David Lehman, manufacturing specialist, Center for Community Vitality – Prairie Business magazine’s 40 Under 40 Award
  • Ron Smith, horticulturist, Jan Knodel, entomologist, (along with Alan Zuk, assistant professor in Plant Sciences) – “Home Lawn Problems and Solutions for North Dakota” is one of three publications recognized by the North Dakota State Library with a Notable State Government Document Award.
  • Agriculture Communication –– FEMA 2012 Individual and Community Preparedness Award for Innovative Use of Technology for the Disaster Recovery Log and Winter Survival Kit phone apps

    Epsilon Sigma Phi Awards (presented at Fall Conference)

    • Claudia Dean, senior administrative assistant, NDSU Extension Service/Ward County, and Kris Holt, administrative assistant, Extension administration – Meritorious Support Service Award
    • Julie Garden-Robinson, food and nutrition specialist – State Meritorious Service Award
    • Roxanne Johnson, water quality associate – Early Career Service Award
    • Rick Schmidt, Extension agent/Oliver County – Mid-career Service Award
    • Peggy Anderson, Extension agent/Burke and Divide counties – Distinguished Service Award
    • Marcia McMullen, recently retired plant pathologist – Continued Excellence Award
    • Marie Hvidsten, rural leadership specialist – Visionary Leadership Award
    • Brad Cogdill, chair, Center for 4-H Youth Development and district director – Administrative Leadership Award
    • Ken Hellevang, agricultural engineer; Lori Scharmer, Extension agent/Ward County; and Debb Pankow, family economics specialist – Distinguished Team Award

    Program Excellence Awards (presented at Fall Conference)

    I applaud all 15 programs that were candidates for a Program Excellence Award. The programs selected for awards rated highly in this evaluation criteria:

    • Innovativeness in program development and delivery
    • Appropriate, measurable learning objectives
    • Clear evidence that learning objectives were accomplished such as a change in learners’ behavior, attitude or skills
    • Clear evidence that targeted clients received quality educational product, and
    • At least three years had passed since the program received a Program Excellence Award

    Selected were:

    • Be Sun Savvy – Julie Garden-Robinson, food and nutrition specialist; Peggy Anderson, Extension agent/Burke and Divide counties; Mary Froelich, Extension agent/Williams County; Bill Hodous, Extension agent/Ramsey County; Dena Kemmet, Extension agent/Mercer County; Lionel Olson, Extension agent/Grand Forks County; and Calli Thorne, Extension agent/McKenzie County
    • Farmland Lease Workshop – Dwight Aakre, farm management specialist; Willie Huot, Extension agent/Grand Forks County; Andy Swenson, farm and family resource management specialist; Calli Thorne, Extension agent/McKenzie County; Brian Zimprich, Extension agent/Ransom County; Paige Brummond, Extension agent/Ward County; Raquel Dugan-Dibble, Extension agent/McHenry County; Jim Hennessy, Extension agent/Mountrail County; Emily Kline, area Extension specialist/livestock environmental management; Joel Lemer, Extension agent/Foster County; KaSondra Staiger, Extension agent/Burleigh County; Evan Twedt, formerly Extension agent/Griggs County; and Ron Haugen, farm management specialist
    • Livestock Nutrition Training Series – Reid Redden, sheep specialist; Charlie Stoltenow, veterinarian; Karl Hoppe and John Dhuyvetter, area Extension specialists/livestock systems; Lisa Pederson, beef quality specialist; J.W. Schroeder, dairy specialist; Jackie Buckley, Extension agent/Morton County; and KaSondra Staiger, Extension agent/Burleigh County
    • New American Garden Project – Carrie Knutson, Donna Bernhardt, Stevan Sagaser and Jean Noland, Extension agents/Grand Forks County (along with four others from Lutheran Social Services and Global Friends Coalition)

    Overall, these teams were selected because they had clear and understandable learning objectives, and their impact reports documented that the objectives were accomplished.

    Chris Boerboom, Extension Director

    Creative Commons License
    Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.