For Employees


| Share

Accepting applications for 2014 NELD North Central (7/30/2013)

The Extension Leadership Team invites applications from agents, area and state specialists, and administrators interested in participating in the 2014 NELD North Central program. Applicants must have been employed by NDSU Extension for at least five years. A program overview provided by University of Minnesota Extension (the host institution) provides a good description of what it's all about.

The program requires full commitment and participation. In addition to personal and professional development resources, participants will attend four, on-site seminars as follows:

Session 1, January 22-25, Chicago, IL area, Understanding My Role as Leader

Examining leadership and followership through self-assessments, facilitative tools and personal plans 

Session 2, April 4-12, Costa Rica, Entering the Realm of the Other

Incorporating intercultural experiences in leadership with opportunities for exploring Extension-type work through the lens of another culture

Session 3, July 13-17, Washington, DC, Leading in a Shared Power World

Building leadership skills and networks for increased effectiveness in Extension at the national level

Session 4, September 17-20, St Paul, MN area, Integrating Leadership for Change

Synthesizing information and skills for practical application in professional and institutional roles

Participants' transportation, meals, lodging and seminar tuition will be supported with state funds.

Up to three participants will be selected from the applications that reach my office by Friday, Aug. 30, 2013. Please allow enough time to get the needed signatures along the way.

As you consider whether or not to apply, you may find it helpful to visit with a few of your colleagues who have participated in previous years. Those still with NDSU are:

2013 Chris Augustin, Vanessa Hoines, Dena Kemmet, LoAyne Voigt & Joe Zeleznik

2012   Janet Knodel & Samantha Roth

2011   Raquel Dugan-Dibble, Kendall Nichols & Sharon Query

2010   Gayle Gette, Sue Isbell & Joel Ransom

2009   Crystal Schaunaman & Rita Ussatis

2008   Jodi Bruns, Bill Hodous & Charlie Stoltenow

2007   Mike Hanson & Lori Scharmer

2006   Donna Anderson, Peggy Anderson & Steve Sagaser

2004   Jim Hennessy & Colleen Svingen

2002-03   Lynette Flage, Randy Grueneich & Mohamed Khan

2001-02   Ellen Bjelland & Blaine Schatz

2000   Al Ulmer & Dave Franzen

1998-99   Jackie Buckley & Karl Hoppe

1997-98   Michelle Effertz

1996-97   Kathy Tweeten

1993-94   Jay Fisher

1992-93   Ken Hellevang, Becky Koch, Marcia McMullen & Gerald Sturn

We invite you to consider this opportunity to look at leadership in a new way.

Chris Boerboom, Extension Director

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.