For Employees


| Share

16 + 1 = a whole lot of applause (12/16/2014)

Applause photo

The ceremony for the NDSU Agriculture and Extension Faculty/Staff Awards was held on campus last Thursday. I had the pleasure of helping recognize these 16 Extension colleagues who were nominated for these awards of excellence. The nominees were:

  • Chris Augustin, North Central Research Extension Center
  • Justin Crosswhite, Animal Sciences
  • Linda Hauge, 4-H Youth Development (recipient, AGSCO Excellence in Extension Award)
  • Nancy Hillen, Agriculture Communication
  • Willie Huot, Grand Forks County  
  • John Kringler, Cass County  
  • Linda McCaw, Agriculture Communication (recipient, Donald and Jo Anderson Staff Award)
  • Megan Ness, EFNEP/FNP
  • John Nowatzki, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Joel Ransom, Plant Sciences
  • Christina Rittenbach, Stutsman County (recipient, Myron & Muriel Johnsrud Excellence in Extension/Outreach Award)
  • Andrew Robinson, Plant Sciences
  • Andrew Swenson, Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • J.W. Schroeder, Animal Sciences
  • Bruce Sundeen, Agriculture Communication
  • Danelle Walker, School of Natural Resource Sciences

I regret that we didn’t snap a group photo to show you, but know that all of the nominees who were able to be there had a smile while they received a warm round of well-deserved applause. I said it at the ceremony and will say it again here that I sincerely thank not only the nominees for their outstanding work, but those who took the time to tell their peer’s stories and the selection committees who had the very difficult task of selecting only one recipient for each award.  

Andrew Thostenson 2014The +1? That would be Andrew Thostenson, pesticide program specialist, who received a Special Recognition Award from the American Association of Pesticide Safety Educators at the association’s first dedicated national workshop in September. Andrew serves as the immediate past president of the association. During his tenure as AAPSE president, Andrew initiated the organization of a national stakeholders team to support PSEP funding. M. J. Weaver, the current association president, recognized Andrew “for his contributions to the national stakeholder team, contributing to solutions to the funding crisis in PSEP, and leading AAPSE so capably during his tenure as president, and currently as immediate past president.”

Congratulations all!

Chris Boerboom, Extension Director

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.