Upsilon Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi


| Share

September 30, 2014

Minutes from the September 30, 2014 ESP meeting

Epsilon Sigma Phi Upsilon Chapter

September 30, 2014

Doublewood, Fargo

The meeting was called to order by President Julie Garden-Robinson at Noon.

An announcement was made that Lester DeKrey, former ESP member, had passed away.

Recognition of guests and retirees in attendance: Eugene Elhard (four years retired), Marcia McMullen (taking care of grandson, scientific writing/editing business), Margaret Tweten (traveled to Mexico and Israel, working with New Americans helping them with English), Harvey Hirning (21 years retired, writer in Colorado, have done pulpit supply this summer), Sharon Anderson (11 years retired, done a lot of golfing, Phoenix in the winter), Ron Smith (have done some writing, consulting, traveling, writes The World of Wine column).

New member initiation – Karla Monson and Brad Cogdill asked new members to come forward for their initiation ceremony. New members include Brad Brummond, Karla Meikle, and Brenda Langerud.

Secretary’s report: Motion by Mohamed Khan, seconded by J.W. Schroeder to approve minutes of the September 30, 2014 meeting, motion carried.

Treasurer’s report: Motion by Jackie Buckley, seconded by John Kringler to approve the report, motion carried.

Committee Reports:

  • Audit Committee – no report
  • History and Retirees – Duane will work on the past 10 year history of Extension
  • Membership and Recruitment and Retention: Julie mentioned they are working on recruiting new members.
  • Member Services Scholarship – Jackie reported there were three applications for Bearfield-Bale and Arlyn Straoba/Bob Hughes scholarships. Mary Berg received $500 Arlyn Straoba/Bob Hughes scholarship and Todd Weinmann received $200 Bearfield-Bale scholarship.
  • Awards – Lynette shared the names of the awardees.

Meritorious Support Service Award - Jeralyn Fischer and Cindy Olson
Mid-Career Service Award - Jodi Bruns
Meritorious Service Award - Marcia Hellandsaas
Administrative Leadership Award - Chris Boerboom
Distinguished International Service Award - Charlie Stoltenow
Distinguished Service Award - Willie Huot
Distinguished Team Award - Tri-County Tourism Alliance
Friends of Extension - Reinhard Hauck and Myron and Muriel Johnsrud

Old Business:

  • NDJCEP Update – Julie and Mohamed reported information about a 66% response rate on the survey. For County Extension agents: $1,000 cash stipend or $2,000 professional development funds if they add to their education (i.e. Masters, Ph.D., etc.)
    • July 1, 2015 - $3,000 base increase – criteria for increase includes jury presentation, LEAD or NELD or RLND participation, Level 3-4 evaluation, author of Extension publication.
    • Increasing salary in eight oil patch counties through legislation
    • 4-H/Livestock review in November 2014
    • Retention issues of 34 ag agents:  33% agents retired, 25% had gone back to ag operations, 9% had moved to other NDSU positions
    • 100 year celebration for Extension
      • Had a display at county fairs
      • Open houses in northeast area of state

New Business:

  • North Central ESP calls – Julie mentioned the membership in our local Chapter needs to be increased. Get our elevator speeches ready. Webinars through National ESP.
  • JCEP Conference – Memphis location raised prices
  • National ESP Conference October 6-9, 2014 and October 4-7, 2015.

Nominating committee:

  • Brad Cogdill made report, thanked Andrew for getting committee together. Jackie Buckley made motion, seconded by Mohamed Khan that we accept names on the ballot. Motion carried.
    • Jan Knodel – President Elect
    • Marie Hvidsten – Secretary/Treasurer
    • Jodi Bruns – Annalist

Donna Anderson made motion to adjourn, seconded by Karl Hoppe, motion carried.


Marie Hvidsten, Secretary

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.