Upsilon Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi


| Share

October 2019

Epsilon Sigma Phi Upsilon Chapter

October 24, 2019, 7:15 a.m.

Double Tree, West Fargo, ND


(To be approved at the Fall 2020 meeting of the membership)

Call to Order – Ken Hellevang, President, Upsilon Chapter of ESP

Additions to the agenda?

Introduction of members and guest—J.W Schroeder, retired 

Secretary’s report – Andrew Thostenson presented the minutes from the 2019 meeting. Motion to approve without modification was moved, seconded, and approved without dissent. 

Treasurer’s report – Andrew Thostenson presented the financial report for 2019. They were reviewed and found in order by Charlie Stoltenow. Motion to approve without modification was moved, seconded, and approved without dissent.

Website update – Discussion was had on the maintenance of the website. Dena Kemmet volunteered to take over the management of the website. 


  • Audit – Charlie Stoltenow reported 2019 was in order and will work with Dean Aakre on the 2020 review. 
  • Global Relations – Marcia Hellandass reported ESP National Activities in Cambodia. She also mention a study tour for the Philippines and scholarship availability.
  • History and Retirees – Hellevang reported that the extension history project had been completed. It is available on-line. He thanked Duane Hauck for spearheading it and John Kringler and Lori Lymburner for their efforts compiling it. It is available on-line at:
  • Membership and Recruitment – Vanessa Hoines, Chair, reported 33 total members and 7 NEW members. She introduced the new members to the membership. 
  • Nominating Committee – Bradley Cogdill, Chair, Slate for 2020. He requested closing of nominations and the casting of a unanimous ballot. He moved, seconded by Dean Aakre, and affirmative voice vote was recorded.

o Greg Endres - President, for a two year term (election not required)  

o Jodi Bruns – President Elect, for a two year term (election required)

o Andrew Thostenson, Secretary/Treasurer, continue to serve 

o Mary Keena (Berg), Analyst, (election required)

Professional Development and Scholarship
– Greg Endres solicited nominees for  scholarships in November/December 2018.The following were selected and supported: 

o Paige Brummund - Extension agent, ANR; Minot. Bearfield-Bale Scholarship and Myron and Muriel Johnsrud Profession Development Award for  MS degree in Extension Education.

o Sara Laite - Extension agent, FNP; Devils Lake. Bearfield-Bale Scholarship for MS degree in Public Health, Health Promotion option.

o Liz Larson - Extension Parent Educator; Mandan. ESP Scholarship for MS degree in Social Work.

o Penny Nester - Extension agent, ANR; Steele. ESP Scholarship for Certified Crop Adviser (CCA).

He also solicited scholarships in August/September of 2019. The following were selected and supported: 

o Emily Goff, Extension Agent 4H and Youth; Ward County, Myron and Muriel Johnsrud Profession Development Award.

o Kayla Carlson, Extension Agent Family and Community Wellness; Cass County, ESP Memorial Scholarship and Bearfield-Bale Scholarship.

  • Recognition, 2019—Lynette Flage thanked the award nominees and reported on them. The state award recipients can be found here:  She also reported that Megan Scott was awarded the North Central Region MidCareer Service Award.
  • Public Issues and Publicity – Jan Knodel, reported activities and solicited participation in the committee
  • PILD Update: Julie Garden-Robinson, Vanessa Hoines, and Ken Hellevang reported on their participation and urged members to apply for the April 2020. 
  • Update – National ESP— Greg, Marcia, and Mohamed Khan reported on their trip to the nationals. These were excellent professional development opportunities and they encouraged participation in 2020.
  • NDSU JCEP – Ken and Greg reported on the recently completed fall meeting. Ken Chairs JCEP. Minutes of their meeting are posted at:  Ken also served on the Program Excellence Award Committee. 

New Business:

  • Dues for 2020 Reminder: Vanessa encouraged people to pay on-line, but is still accepting payments by check. 
  • Verify Committee Memberships: Ken asked that committee memberships be reviewed and any changes needed be communicated to Greg.
  • New Members Enrolled by Analyst Jodi Bruns   
  • New Membership Certificates Awarded: Kari Helgoe, Dena Kemmet, Cindy Klapperich, and Acacia Stuckle
  • Ken Hellevang Recognition: Greg awarded Ken with and appreciation gift for two years of service to ESP. 


  Draft Minutes submitted by Andrew Thostenson, Secretary/Treasurer

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.