Upsilon Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi


| Share

October 2018

Epsilon Sigma Phi Upsilon Chapter

October 24, 2018, 7:15 a.m.,

Radisson Hotel, Bismarck, ND

 (Approved at the Fall 2019 meeting of the membership)

Call to Order – Ken Hellevang, President, Upsilon Chapter of ESP

Additions to the agenda?

Introduction of members and guest, Jodi Bruns Analyst: Jim Gray, Carie Knutson, Breanna Keiser, and Bruce Schmidt

Secretary’s report – Andrew Thostenson presented the minutes from the 2018 meeting. Motion to approve without modification was moved, seconded, and approved without dissent.

Treasurer’s report– Andrew Thostenson presented the financial report for 2018. They were reviewed and found in order by Charlie Stoltenow. Motion to approve without modification was moved, seconded, and approved without dissent.

 Revisions to the By-Laws and Procedures Presented For a Vote: – Dean Aakre. Motion to approve, Dean, with addition of a change to $45 for first year membership fee. Seconded by Charlie Stoltenow. Approved without dissent. (See revisions below.)

 2018 Revision


  • Audit – Charlie Stoltenow reported 2018 was in order and was charged with reviewing the books in 2019. Charlie will solicit Dwight Aakre and Julie Garden-Robinson to help as needed.
  • Global Relations – Marcia Hellandass, no report.
  • History and Retirees – Duane Hauck. Proposed a 4 way cost sharing plan to write up extension history from 2003 to 2019. All association to contribute $500. The total off $2,000 to be paid to John Kringler for his time. Motion was made, seconded, and approved without dissent.
  • Membership and Recruitment – Vanessa Hoines, Chair. Vanessa explained the on-line membership option available for renewing in 2019 as well as the old paper form. She highlighted recently inducted members.
  • Nominating Committee – Bradley Cogdill, Chair, Slate for 2019, no election needed.
    • Ken Hellevang, President, for a two year term  (2nd Year).
    • Greg Endres- President Elect, for a two year term. (2nd Year)
    • Andrew  Thostenson, Secretary/Treasurer, continue  to serve
    • Jodie Bruns, Analyst, continue to serve
  • Professional Development and Scholarship – Greg Endres agreed to solicit nominees for at least two scholarships in November/December  2018. He will work with Andrew  on amounts.
  • Recognition, 2018—Lynette Flage:

    • State Meritorious Support Service – Cindy Entze, Extension Administrative Assistant | Mercer County
    • State Meritorious Support Service – Jan Hanson, Extension Administrative Assistant | McLean County
    • Early Career Service – Andrew  Friskop, Plant Pathologist
    • Mid-Career Service – Carrie Knutson, Extension Agent, Horticulture | Grand Forks County
    • Distinguished Service – Dean Aakre, 4-H Youth Development  Specialist
    • Visionary Leadership – Vanessa Hoines, Extension Agent, Family and Community Wellness | Morton  County
    • Administrative Leadership – Jim Gray, West District Director
    • Friend of Extension – Chris Boerboom, Retired NDSU Extension Director
    • Friend of Extension – Michael Miller, Director and Bibliographer, NDSU Libraries and Germans from  Russia Heritage Collection
    • Friend of Extension – Kendall Nichols, Director of Research, N.D. Soybean Council
  • Public Issues and Publicity Jan Knodel, no report
  • Update – National ESP—Kathy Tweeten’s Reported on National Activities and thanked the membership for supporting her efforts. The membership also approved her gift for reimbursement  for the National Meeting Auction.
  • NDSU JCEP Craig Askim reported on activities. Minutes of their meeting are posted at: A major change in mission was to select Program Excellence Awards for Extension.

New Business:

Oversight of Johnsrud Professional Development Fund – Hellevang presented Extension Administration’s proposal for ESP to take over the task of soliciting and awarding the Johnsrud award. Motion  was made, seconded, approved without  dissent.

 Quarterly Skype Calls – Hellevang noted that he intended to conduct quarterly calls of the officers and committee chairs in 2019.


 Draft Minutes submitted by Andrew Thostenson, Secretary/Treasurer

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.