Upsilon Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi


| Share

October 1996

Minutes of the October 23, 1996 ESP Meeting

Annual Meeting ofUpsion Chapter, Epsilon Sigma Phi
October 23, 1996, Ramada Plaza Suites

The annual meeting of Upsilon Chapter, ESP, was held during Extension Annual Conference on Oct. 23, 1996 at the Ramada Plaza Suites
in Fargo. Seventy three active and 8 life members were present for the luncheon meeting.

Brad Cogdill called the meeting to order and life members were introduced.

A moment of silence was held in recognition of Bethel McCloud a longtime life ESP member who passed away this year.

After the luncheon, the minutes of the Oct. 11, 1995 meeting were reviewed and approved. Copies of the minutes were distributed
at the beginning of the meeting.

The treasures report was presented by the Sec.-Trea. Copies were distributed at the beginning of the meeting.

The report indicated expenses over income of $467.07. End of year balance was $173.20 in the bank and $7,098.39
in the 4-H Foundation account. It was moved and seconded by Julie Hassebroeck and Dean Aakre and carried to approve the report.

John Kringler, chair of the auditing committee, reported the accounts were in good order.

New ESP members were initiated following the ceremony outlined in the ESP handbook. It was conducted by Brad Cogdill, President,
Geri Bosch, vice-president and Linda Narum. The initiates were:
Becky Koch, Agricultural Communications
C.J. Johnson, Agricultural Communications
Carmel Miller, Extension Agent Bowman County
Virginia Clark, Dean of Human Development and Education
Darwin Hinrichs, Area Extension Specialist

Each initiate received a framed membership certificate, a framed ESP Creed, a membership card and a folder including ESP information,
a copy of the Upsilon Constitution, a copy of the 1996 Upsilon Newsletter and national ESP brochures.

Committee reports
Recognition-Dave Rice reported that he was pleased with their nominations for awards. Information will be sent out to the membership soon after January 1 for 1997 awards.
Membership-Connie Weed reported that 48 members renewed their membership at this time and that about 70-75 will be renewed including the five new initiants.
Audit-John Kringler reported earlier about the treasures report.
History-Jim Kenward reported that a new video tape was available for retirees on mistakes to avoid.
Scholarship-Mary Green not present to report.
The following is the ESP grant recipients for the year:
J.W. Schroeder $175.00
DeAnn Johnson $175.00
Julie Hassebroeck $150.00
Epsilon Sigma Phi Scholarships:
J.W. Schroeder $225.00
DeAnn Johnson $225.00
Rhonda Conlon $150.00
Debb Pankow $195.00
Bearfield/Bale Scholarship
Brad Cogdill approx.$800.00

Nominating-Eugene Elhard nominated the following as ESP officers for the new year:
Geri Bosch-President
Linda Narum-Vice-President
Vern Hofman-Secretary/Treasurer
Sharon Kickertz-Gerbig-Annalyst

Election of officers-President Cogdill asked for additional nominations. There were none. For each office it was moved,
seconded and carried to cast a unanimous ballot for the nominee.

Geri Bosch provided a brief summary of the ESP Regional workshop that she attended in Chicago. The ESP national
meeting was attended by Gary Moran. This meeting was held in Spokane, Washington, and provided information on marketing
extension and better communication.

President Brad Cogdill turned the gavel over to the new president Geri Bosch. The meeting was adjourned by President Bosch.

Minutes submitted by: Vern Hofinan, Secretary/Treasurer

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.