Upsilon Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi


| Share

October 1994

Minutes of the October 25, 1994 ESP Meeting

October 25, 1994, Peace Garden ROOM, NDSU Union

The annual meeting of Upsilon Chapter, ESP, was held during the statewide In-Service Training held October 24-27, 1997. About
70 active and 11 Life members were present for the lunch meeting.

Verona Lechler, president, called the meeting to order and welcomed all active and Life members. The Life members were asked
to introduce themselves, tell when they retired and what they are presently doing.

The minutes of the March 23, 1994, meeting were read and approved. Copies had been distributed on the tables.

The treasurer's report was given by the treasurer. Copies had been distributed for review. The report indicated $176.23 as income
.over expenses with $786.50 in the bank and $7,098.36 in the 4-H Foundation account. It was moved, seconded and carried to approve
the treasurer's report.

President Lechler read several thank~you notes from recipients of recognition.

Kurt Froelich was initiated as a new member. He is serving as County Extension Agent in Foster County. The initiation ceremony
in the Epsilon Sigma Phi Handbook was conducted by Verona Lechler, president: Gary Moran, vice-presient, and Linda Narum, Analyst.
The initiate received a framed membership certificate, a framed ESP Creed, a membership card and a folder including ESP Information.

Committee Reports:
Recognition Committee: Brad Cogdill, chair, reported that National ESP has dropped the Meritorious Service Award and has added awards
for chapters to use including: Meritorious Support Service Award, Retirees Service Award,Visionary Leadership Recognition Award and
Team Award. He stated that information on nominations of all awards for 1995 will be distributed after January 1, 1995, and awards will
be presented at the Spring Conference.

History and Retirement Committee: Jim Kenward, chair, reported that several activities are planned. (1) Develop a list of retirees
who would be willing to visit with potential retirees about retirement plans. (2) To establish an office at NDSU that would offer
information on retirement and history.The NDSU Office of Regional Studies has agreed to house historical ijocuments regarding Extension
and Epsilon Sigma Phi. The committee will also utilize the Extension Staff Development Library. (3) Release information in the Epsilon
Sigma Phi Newsletter of interest to retirees. (4) Request that the ESP vice-president serve on the Retirement and History Committee.

Membership Committee: Dean Aakre, chair, reported 74 members including our new member. Three members from 1993 did not pay dues in 1994.
Upsilon Chapter has 62 Life members. He distributed a current membership list on the back of agenda.

Scholarship Committee: Dean Aakre reported for Suzanne Fundingsland, chair. Upsilon Chapter grant awards given this year were: Carmelita
Lamb, $100: Kathleen Tweeten, $100: Julie Hassebroek, $150: Deb Gebeke, $150. The Chapter Foundation Scholarship award, Rhonda
Conlon, $500. The Bearfield-Bale Scholarship was awarded to Deb Gebeke.

Audit Committee: John Kringler, chair, reported that the treasaner's report was in good order.

Nomination Committee: Linda Narum, chair, reported the slate of nominations for officers as follows: President, Gary Moran; VicePresident,
Brad Cogdill: Secretary-Treasurer, Norbert Dorow and Analyst, Linda Narum. President Lechler asked for additional nominations for each office.
Following each, it was moved, seconded and carried to cast a unanimous ballot for the nominee.

The issue of whether the President or Vice-President should be the chapter delegate to the N.C. Workshop was brought up for discussion.
Gary Moran had indicated that he planned to attend the National ESP convention in Milwaukee in December as part of his professional
improvement. Dorow moved that at least for this year that our Vice-President, Brad Cogdill attend the N.C. Workshop to be held in
Green Bay, Wis. in February.
It was moved, seconded to approve expenditure for Cogdill the N.C. Workshop in February, 1995. Motion carried.

Referring back to the earlier Recognition Committee report, Brad Cogdill moved that Upsilon Chapter continue the Meritorious Service
Award, and that the Chapter add the following awards: Meritorious Support Service Award, Retirees Service Award, and Visionary Leadership
Recognition Award. The motion was seconded and carried.

President Lechler reminded that Dean Aakre would accept $30 Membership dues for 1995. Sixteen members paid dues before leaving.

The President turned the meeting over to newly elected President, Gary Moran. He asked for and received applause for our out-going
president Verona Lechler.

Meeting Adjourned.
Norbert Dorow

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.