Upsilon Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi


| Share

October 12, 2015

Minutes from the October 12, 2015 ESP meeting

Epsilon Sigma Phi Upsilon Chapter

October 12, 2015

Radisson Hotel, Bismarck

The meeting was called to order by President Mohamed Khan at Noon.

Mohamed welcomed our guests, Kathy Tweeten and June Kraft.

Secretary’s Report: Motion made by Andrew Thostenson, seconded by Willie Huot to approve the minutes of the September 30, 2014 meeting. Motion carried.

Treasurer’s report: A question was asked about why we don’t have an amount for the fall 2014 auction on the treasurer’s report. Marie indicated that she didn’t receive a check for the 2014 auction proceeds. Marie will check with the appropriate organization who led the 2014 auction to find out why ESP didn’t receive their 15% check. Marie shared that First Community Credit Union (FCCU) will not give interest to funds in a checking account. FCCU will give interest to money in a savings account only. Marie also indicated that the 4-H Foundation Managed Account amount was less this year due to the losses in the stock market.  J.W. Schroeder made a motion to accept the report, Willie Huot seconded. Motion carried.

Membership Report: Vanessa Hoines shared information about how to renew your ESP membership. Vanessa indicated we can renew our membership today.

Scholarship Committee:  One request in but no decision has been made.

Awards Committee:  Lynette Flage shared information about the awards banquet that will be held at Noon on Wednesday during Fall Conference. The awardees include:

Friends of Extension

* Jesse Handegard, Bismarck, who volunteers at the North Dakota 4-H Camp and serves on the North Dakota 4-H Foundation

* Rodney Howe, Hettinger, former chair of the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (SBARE)

* North Dakota Rural Rehabilitation Corporation, which made major contributions to the North Dakota 4-H Camp's renovation and building project

* Meritorious Support Service Award: Jayne Aukland, finance administrator, Extension Pesticide Program, and Linda Schuster, administrative secretary, Carrington Research Extension Center

* Early Career Service Award: Karla Meikle, Extension agent, 4-H youth development, Morton County

* Mid-Career Service Award: Janet Knodel, Extension entomologist, Fargo

* Administrative Leadership Award: Gerald Sturn, southwest district director, Bismarck

* International Service Award: Mohamed Khan, Extension sugar beet specialist, Fargo

* Distinguished Service Award: Brad Brummond, Walsh County Extension agent, agriculture and natural resources

* Visionary Leadership Award: Brad Cogdill, Center for 4-H Youth Development chair, Fargo

Lynette presented Kathy Tweeten an ESP Life Membership award.


  • Mohamed attended the 2015 ESP National Conference in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho October 4-7, 2015. The 2016 National ESP Conference will be in Cape May, New Jersey October 23-27, 2016.
  • JCEP is in Las Vegas, Nevada February 10-11, 2016

Mohamed shared that he has had a great response from Extension regarding silent auction items. He thanked the individuals who indicated they would be willing to help with the auction.

Nominating committee:  Andrew shared that Marie is stepping down as Secretary/Treasurer, Jodi will remain as Annalist, Brad Brummond is the President-elect nominee and Andrew Thostenson is the Secretary/Treasurer nominee.

Mohamed made a motion that we cast a unanimous ballot, Carmen Rath-Wald seconded. Motion carried. Congratulations and thank you to Brad, Andrew and Jodi!

Marie recommended we move 90% of the ESP checking funds into our savings account to earn interest on our money because First Community Credit Union will not be paying interest on checking accounts anymore. Julie Garden Robinson made a motion to move 90% of the ESP checking account funds into our savings account, Jan Knodel seconded. Motion carried.

Rick Schmitt made a motion to adjourn at 12:19 p.m. Willie Huot seconded. Motion carried.

Marie Hvidsten


Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.