Center for Agricultural Policy and Trade Studies


| Share

Past 2017 Conference Program/Videos

April 12, 2017
When Apr 12, 2017
from 08:30 AM to 04:45 PM
Where Fargo, ND
Contact Name
Contact Phone 701-231-8642
Add event to calendar vCal

2018 Farm Policy and Bill:  Issues and Opportunities Conference

Ramada Plaza Suites, Fargo, N.D.
April 12, 2017

Organized by Saleem Shaik, director, NDSU Center for Agricultural Policy and Trade Studies,
in cooperation with U.S. Senators John Hoeven and Heidi Heitkamp, and Congressman Kevin Cramer

Sponsored by:  North Dakota Corn Growers Association, North Dakota Farmers Union and American Crystal Sugar

The 2017 NDSU Center for Agricultural Policy and Trade Studies conference focused on farm policy and selected titles of the anticipated 2018 Farm Bill. Our Senators and Congressman were invited to discuss their expectations for the upcoming legislation. A discussion of the commodities program (Title I) and crop insurance program (Title XI) identified current issues, possible program modifications, and whether there is a need for new programs. The session on Conservation (Title II) and Trade (Title III) addressed resource and environmental concerns, the status and impact of existing free trade agreements and the possibility of additional multi-lateral trade agreements. The final session considered how past and present U.S. agricultural policies may influence future policies and challenge participants to consider emerging agriculture, rural and farm policy issues.

The day-long conference was an opportunity to engage with industry leaders, experts and clientele groups in considering novel farm policy ideas for the upcoming farm bill, and its impact on North Dakota and global agriculture.


Conference Planning Committee

Tyler Jameson – Representative of Senator Heitkamp
Kaitlyn Kline – Representative of Representative Cramer
Tom Brusegaard – Representative of Senator Hoeven
Mark Watne, President North Dakota Farmers Union
Dale Ihry, Executive Director, North Dakota Corn Growers Association
Tom Astrup, President and CEO American Crystal Sugar Company
Nancy Johnson, Executive Director, ND Soybean Growers Association
Stephanie Sinner, Director of Market Development, North Dakota Soybean Council
Dan Wogsland, Executive Director, North Dakota Grain Growers
Saleem Shaik, Director Center for Agricultural Policy and Trade Studies, NDSU
William Nganje, Chair, Agribusiness and Applied Economics, NDSU
David Saxowsky, Professor and Former Chair, Agribusiness and Applied Economics, NDSU
Frayne Olson, Director, Quentin Burdick Center for Cooperatives, NDSU


Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics
Center for Agricultural Policy and Trade Studies

NDSU Dept. 7610, P.O. Box 6050 | Fargo, ND 58108-6050 | T. 701.231.7459 | F. 701.231.7400
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.