College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources


| Share

Who Makes NDSU Smile?

The Mary McCannel Gunkelman Recognition Award was established in January 1987, by the late John L. Gunkelman and his family in memory of Mrs. Gunkelman, who was a 1942 graduate of the College of Home Economics.

The purpose of this award is to honor the late Mary McCannel Gunkelman whose life, from the time she was a student on the campus of NDSU and throughout her unselfish life as a wife, mother, and active citizen in the Fargo-Moorhead community, found greatest expression and satisfaction in her contributions in creating an atmosphere of happiness for others to enjoy. 

Mary was firmly dedicated to the principle that a student would be more apt to attain his or her full potential if he or she were working and living in an enjoyable environment. She further believed that the more enjoyable the campus and programs of NDSU, the better university it would be in the future. It is in the firm endorsement of Mary’s belief that this award was established.

The award ceremony occurred May 3, 2019 at the Harry D. McGovern Alumni Center and the awardees are:

  • Adnan Akyuz            Professor of Climatological Practice
  • Ed Deckard               Plant Sciences
  • Greg Morgenson        Plant Sciences
  • Jack Norland             School of Natural Resources
  • Sarah Freitag             Animal Science
  • Shannon Ueker           Plant Sciences
  • Loren Baranko            Animal Science
  • David Roberts             Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • Erik Hanson               Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • Patti Sebesta             College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources - Dean's Office
  • Cheryl Wachenheim    Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • Julie Bietz                   Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Alan Zuk                     Plant Sciences
Source: NDSU News
Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.