College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources


| Share

Jacob Dailey - selected as a 2016-17 AFA Student Advisory Team Member

Jacob Dailey is an ag systems management major at NDSU. He was selected as a 2016-17 AFA Student Advisory Team Member, a group of 10 students who are responsible for representing AFA nationally as well as planning and facilitating the 2016 AFA Leaders Conference.

See article posted by Agriculture Future of America:

AFA Selects 2016 Student Leaders

Agriculture Future of America has selected its 10 Student Advisory Team members and 15 Campus Ambassadors for the 2016-17 year. These students represent 24 schools from 23 states. During their year of service, these students will interact with agribusiness leaders, campus faculty and fellow students as they represent AFA.

“AFA values students as leaders,” said Russ Weathers, AFA CEO. “One of the main ways this is displayed is through our Student Advisory Team and Campus Ambassadors. These young men and women are our student voice and influence the direction of our programs. Our student leadership team is made possible by AFA’s strategic partnerships with ADM, Cargill, CHS, Farm Credit and Monsanto, and we are thankful for their investment.”

All 25 students will fill the Campus Ambassador role at their respective schools by serving as a liaison between AFA and university faculty, staff and fellow students. Additionally, the 10 Student Advisory Team members are responsible for representing AFA nationally as well as planning and facilitating the 2016 AFA Leaders Conference, Nov. 3-6, in Kansas City, Missouri. Their year will kick off March 31-April 2, when all 25 students convene in Kansas City for training and to develop the 2016 Conference theme.

“This passionate group of students selected as AFA’s student voice for 2016 are all proven leaders,” said Annie Storey, director of programs. “With their strong AFA history, they are eager to represent us on their campuses. They have bright ideas of how they will personally and collectively broaden our scope of delegates this year.”

Throughout the year, the Student Advisory Team will visit corporate partners and potential partners of AFA, as well as develop plans for the 2016 Conference. They will have opportunities to discuss various facets of agriculture and business with leaders from the leading organizations. These visits expand students’ understanding of agriculture and add value to Conference.

Student Advisory Team

Brandon Brunt, Purdue University
Jacob Dailey, North Dakota State University
Elizabeth Galbreath, Virginia Tech
Layton Hrubes, Montana State University
Holly Kerrigan, University of Arizona
Topanga McBride, Kansas State University
Mason Moore, New Mexico State University
Andrea Rief, South Dakota State University
Savannah Vickery, Clemson University
Celina Young, Iowa State University

Campus Ambassadors

Brandon Barnett, University of Florida
Taylre Beaty, University of Tennessee - Knoxville
Amanda Diesburg, Illinois State University
Sarah Dreyer, California Polytechnic State University
Emily George, University of Idaho
Audrey Hoey, The Ohio State University
Kate Likens, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Max Mielke, Washington State University
Malynda O'Day, University of Missouri
Tony Rice, The Pennsylvania State University
Erica Rogers, University of Kentucky
Sarah Sellars, University of Illinois
Kaylin Spaeth, University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Paige Stevenson, Purdue University
Megan Trantham, Oklahoma State University

Source: AFA

Creative Commons License
Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.