College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources


| Share

Dual-admission and Transfer Program


The program was approved by the North Dakota Board of Higher Education in 1993 to foster cooperation and to simplify the transfer of students among participating institutions.

Participating Institutions

Two-year post-secondary programs in agriculture -

Bismarck State College, Bismarck, ND
Contact: Carmel Miller (701) 224-5557

Dakota College at Bottineau, Bottineau, ND
Contact: Diann Beckman (701) 228-5442

Lake Region State College, Devils Lake, ND
Contact: Jay Olson (701) 662-1562

North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, ND
Contact: Brad Tews (701) 671-2602

Williston State College, Williston, ND
Contact: Kim Murphy (701) 774-6226

North Dakota Tribal Colleges -

Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Fort Totten, ND
Contact: Rachel Brazil (701) 766-1330

Fort Berthold Community College, New Town, ND
Contact: Mary Fredericks (701) 627-4738 ext. 275

Sitting Bull College, Fort Yates, ND
(See p. 123+ of the college catalog accessed by this link.)
Contact: Gary Halvorson (701) 854-8071

Turtle Mountain Community College, Belcourt, ND
Contact: Larry Henry (701) 477-7876

United Tribes Technical College, Bismarck, ND
Contact: Jen Janecek Hartman (701) 255-3285 ext. 1396

Baccalaureate degree programs in agriculture -

North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND
Contact: David Buchanan (701)-231-7426

Dickinson State University, Dickinson, ND
Contact: Chip Poland (701) 483-2185


  • Students transferring from any agriculture program in the North Dakota University System to any other know in advance which courses will transfer.
  • Dual-admission students have the same advantages and priorities as resident students.
  • Because ag faculty at the participating schools have worked together for several years to coordinate the content of their courses, students can transfer knowing that their course background will be comparable to that of their classmates.
  • To help them plan, dual-admission students have two academic advisers - one at each institution.

How the program works

    1. Transfer institutions treat dual-admission students as though they had entered as freshmen, giving them the same advantages and priorities as resident students, including early registration the semester prior to transfer.
    2. Dual-admission students planning to transfer to a four-year program will be encouraged to make that transfer after two years of full-time academic study.
    3. Dual-admission students must meet North Dakota State University standards for good academic standing to retain dual admission status. For students transferring with 60 or more credits, good academic standing is achieved by maintaining term and cumulative grade point averages at or above 2.0.
    4. Students are assigned academic advisers at both institutions to insure the success of the transfer process.
    5. All transfer students will be expected to take a minimum of 37 semester credits of upper-division courses at NDSU. No baccalaureate degree will be granted by the university with less than one year of work (30 semester credits) earned at NDSU.
    6. Only those courses approved for transfer by the Agriculture Articulation Committee will be transferred automatically. The approved list will be updated annually. The minimum grade for a course to transfer to any institution is the grade of D. The minimum grade for transfer of courses in the academic major is the grade of C.
    7. Up to six semester credits earned for internship or cooperative work experience courses can be transferred provided the work experience had a demonstrated academic component in addition to the work component.
    8. Dual-admission students apply to the school where they wish to begin their college educations. Application fees are paid to each institution at the time the student seeks admission to the originating school.

    How to get started

    Transfer Student Services provides information and resources for students planning to transfer to NDSU.

    Creative Commons License
    Feel free to use and share this content, but please do so under the conditions of our Creative Commons license and our Rules for Use. Thanks.